AUDIO/RECAP: Drivers Clinch Championships in Three Divisions During Round Nine of the Summer Shootout; Smith Going for Perfection

Jacob Seelman Audio, Carolinas Racing, Featured, Southeast, US Legends/INEX 0 Comments

CONCORD, N.C. — Audio, photo and recap by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio and Race Chaser Online — Round Nine of the 2014 Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series produced on-track skirmishes, championship celebrations and even a couple of new winners as the summer drew closer and closer to a close on Monday night.

The most prominent storyline came in the Bandolero Bandits division, where Chandler Smith powered around D.J. Canipe on lap four of the 20-lap feature and drove away to score his record-setting ninth straight win in the division this season. The win was Smith’s tenth career Bandits victory at the Summer Shootout Series, breaking a tie with Austin Green and Carson Ferguson on the all-time list at Charlotte and he became the only driver in the class over the last ten years to have double digits in the career win column.

With the win, Smith holds a 54 point advantage going into finale night, which was enough for the 12-year-old Georgia driver to officially clinch the 2014 Bandits division championship, his first Summer Shootout crown.

Smith has a chance on Tuesday night to become the first driver in the 21-year history of the Shootout to sweep the season in a single class.

In Young Lions, Carson Ferguson extended his dominant streak in thrilling fashion, using a well-timed bump to get by Matt Thomas on the final turn of the final lap en route to his seventh win in the class this season and 11th career Young Lions division win at the Shootout, most all-time at Charlotte since the inception of the class.

Ferguson’s points lead sits at 52 markers going into championship night, locking up the second career Summer Shootout title for the young hotshoe after he won the Bandolero Bandits championship in the summer of 2011.

In the Masters division, an old favorite made the trip to Victory Lane after eight weeks of trying, as Johnny Sossoman held off repeated charges from Scott Whitaker and Tom Pistone and then pulled away from Bruce Silver on a restart with three laps to go to claim his first Masters division triumph of the season. Silver hung on to finish second, while Whitaker spun late in the race and ended up 12th.

Pistone had a mechanical failure sideline him with five laps to go in the 25-lap feature, but held a 54 point advantage following the feature and wrapped up his second straight Masters division title at the Shootout.

Pro division action saw a photo finish on Monday night, with William Byron edging out Daniel Hemric by 0.053 seconds to claim his second Pro class victory of the season and first since Round Two. Hemric finished second and carries a 29 point margin into Champion’s night, a feature that he will only have to start to claim his record third Pro class championship at the Shootout.

And the most hotly-contested points battle of the summer saw another twist on Monday night, as Devin O’Connell took the Semi-Pro feature victory after Riley Halverson turned race leader Dillon Faggart in turn four as the two were jockeying for the win, forcing the race to end under caution due to the time limit.

Season-long points contender Josh Brimecombe finished fifth, which allowed O’Connell to reclaim the class points lead going into finale night. O’Connell holds a five-point edge as well as the advantage in tie-breakers, meaning that he can finish second or better in Round 10 to claim the championship if Brimecombe does not win the pole. If Brimecombe wins the pole and the bonus point that goes along with it on Tuesday night, the feature becomes a winner-take-all affair, where one of the two drivers will win the championship if they win the race.

Other feature winners on the night included first-time Shootout winner Isabella Robusto in the non-points Bandolero Beginner Bandits division and Ashton Winger in the Bandolero Outlaws division, his third class win of the season. Jensen Jorgensen holds the Outlaws points lead by 17 markers entering Round Ten.

Tuesday night is when everything comes to a head, as Round Ten at the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout closes the series’ 21st season of competition. Six champions will be crowned and a fireworks display will cap off the evening and the summer for drivers and fans.


RESULTS: 21st Annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series; Round 9; Charlotte Motor Speedway; July 29, 2014

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Isabella Robusto; 2. Carson Poindexter; 3. Brandon Gantz; 4. Roy Hayes; 5. Tyler Adams; 6. Dylan Notaro; 7. Hunter Hutchens; 8. Josh Speas; 9. Autumn Weaver; 10. Ashley Pantoulas; 11. George Hayes.

LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Chandler Smith; 2. DJ Canipe; 3. Eddie Fatscher; 4. Kaden Honeycutt; 5. Josh Kossek; 6. Cameron Bolin; 7. Carson Kvapil; 8. Elijah Todd; 9. Blake Cisneros; 10. Austin Geer; 11. Daniel Wilk; 12. Connor Younginer; 13. Mini Tyrell; 14. Braydn Mander; 15. Richie Kuty; 16. William Robusto; 17. Bryson Ruff; 18. Brayde Miranda; 19. Ryan Israel; 20. Ryleigh Lemonds; 21. Liz Montgomery.

Audio with winner Chandler Smith:

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (11 laps): 1. Ashton Winger; 2. Nate Tretow; 3. Daniel Bedford; 4. Matthew Davey; 5. Jack Fread; 6. Matt Mead; 7. Kamera McDonald; 8. Jensen Jorgensen; 9. Dylan Rumbolt; 10. Jordan Plummer; 11. Kayla Lyons; 12. Gillian Kirkpatrick; 13. Trevor Rizzo; 14. Austin Powell; 15. Nick Macmillan, 16. Matthew Emery; 17. Cory Hall; 18. Chase Purdy; 19. Miguel Cesar Jr.

Audio with winner Ashton Winger:

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. Matt Thomas; 3. Michael Womack; 4. Christian Eckes; 5. Riley Herbst; 6. Joseph Graf; 7. Alex Reece; 8. Woodrow Mullis; 9. Stevie Johns Jr.; 10. Ryan Millington; 11. Seth Werner; 12. Mason Diaz; 13. Noah Gragson; 14. Cason Werner; 15. Stefan Parsons; 16. Scott Joy; 17. Amber Burchette; 18. Dawson Cram; 19. Jordan Mander; 20. Cameron McGee; 21. Alex Murray; 22. Matt Craig; 23. Zachary Leonhardi; 24. Austin Green.

Audio with winner and division champion Carson Ferguson:

Audio with runner-up Matt Thomas:

Audio with Matt Craig following his flip on the backstretch:

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (25 laps): 1. John Sossoman; 2. Bruce Silver; 3. Robbie Woodall; 4. Nelson Stewart; 5. Tim Ladyga; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Jefferey Lefcourt; 8. Jamie Laine; 9. Jamie Smith; 10. Ron Mander; 11. Scott Mosely; 12. Scott Whitaker; 13. Robby Faggart; 14. Tom Pistone; 15. John Craig; 16. Chip Ferguson.

Audio with winner John Sossoman:

Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (12 laps): 1. Devin O’Connel; 2. Sheldon Crouse; 3. Connor Pyle; 4. John Holleman; 5. Josh Brimbecombe; 6. Joe Gregory; 7. Craig Biryla; 8. Casey Brown; 9. Courtney Lefcourt; 10. Christopher Clanton; 11. Taylor Jorgensen; 12. Dylan Faggart; 13. Tyler Truex; 14. David Schilling; 15. Jordan Stillwell; 16. Alex Urbina; 17. Josh Turner; 18. Justin Laduke; 19. Robby Lyons; 20. Riley Halverson; 21. Enrique Limon; 22. Collin Jareb.

Audio with winner Devin O’Connell:

Legend Car Pro Feature (25 laps): 1. William Byron; 2. Daniel Hemric; 3. Kason Plott; 4. Zane Smith; 5. Jordan Black; 6. Joey Padgett; 7. Michael Torres; 8. Peyton Saxton; 9. Gregory Lang; 10. Jared Irvan; 11. Steven Cantrell; 12. Dakota Baggette; 13. Donovan Ponder; 14. Tyler Green; 15. Evan Swilling; 16. Trey Jarrell.

Audio with winner William Byron:

Audio with runner-up Daniel Hemric (by Editor in Chief Tom Baker):

Audio with 3rd-place Kason Plott (by Editor in Chief Tom Baker):


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *