AUDIO/RECAP: Dirk Miller Snatches First Career USCS 600 Victory at New Senoia

Jacob Seelman Audio, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Micro Sprints, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

SENOIA, Ga. – Story and audio by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio, Race Chaser Online and USCS Racing – Chris Seelman photo – There’s a first time for everything, and Friday night at New Senoia Raceway, Sanford, Florida veteran Dirk Miller notched two firsts in USCS 600 Sprint Series competition.

Miller powered away from the K&N Filters Pole Position and went unchallenged over the course of Friday’s 20-lap Senoia Summer Nationals preliminary A-main to score his first career USCS-sanctioned mini-sprint victory in a clean sweep, after he also win the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash and won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat to start the night.

“I cannot believe how great this feels,” an ecstatic Miller said in Victory Lane. “My teammate David had the car set up and he said to me before the race, ‘Dirk, I’ve got the car for you tonight. If you don’t win this race, I’m going to take it from you.’ And look where we finished. One-two tonight.”

The only incident during Friday’s A-main occurred on lap 8, when Atlanta, Georgia veteran Sam McCullough flipped at the entrance to turn 4. The car landed on all four wheels and McCullough climbed out uninjured.

Miller’s teammate David Hall, out of Casselberry, Florida, chased him the entire distance but could do nothing with him and had to settle for second. Montgomery, Alabama’s Kyle Amerson completed the podium in third after a hard battle with Atlanta, Georgia driver and two-time winner this season Matt McCullough, who came home fourth. Another two-time season winner, Winder, Georgia’s Mike Magic, rounded out the top five.

Two-time series champion Bobby Zaiontz finished the night sixth, with Dixie Speedway winner Shawn Nelson behind him in the seventh position. Cherryville, North Carolina’s Johnny Bridges, making his mini-sprint debut, came home eighth after starting from the rear of the field. Alpharetta, Georgia driver Bob Trapino crossed the line ninth, with Corinth, Mississippi’s Darl Parvin capping off the top ten.

In other preliminary action, Kyle Amerson notched the win in the Second Heat.

Miller was the provisional polesitter after scoring the most passing points in heat race action, and after a zero was pulled in the K&N Inversion Draw, he also grabbed the K&N Filters Pole Award. Kyle Amerson passed the most cars in the main event to garner the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The USCS 600 Sprint Car Series season continues Saturday night with the finale of the Senoia Summer Nationals at New Senoia Raceway in Senoia, Georgia.

For rules and updated schedule information about the USCS 600 Sprint Car series please visit or call the series office at 770-460-7223 or 770-865-6097.


RESULTS: USCS 600 Sprint Car Series @ New Senoia Raceway; Friday, September 19, 2014

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: Dirk Miller, Dirk Miller, David Hall, Mike Magic, Sean Hosey, Bob Trapino, Brandon Taylor (DNS).

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Dirk Miller, Matt McCullough, Bobby Zaiontz, Shawn Nelson, Shane Werner, Sam McCullough, Brandon Taylor (DNS), Johnny Bridges (DNS). Second Heat: Kyle Amerson, David Hall, Mike Magic, Sean Hosey, Bo Barber, Bob Trapino, Darl Parvin, Michael Barton. USCS 600 Sprint A-Main 20 laps:

  1. #68 – Dirk Miller, Sanford, FL
  2. #67 – David Hall, Casselberry, FL
  3. #29 – Kyle Amerson, Montgomery, AL
  4. #14M – Matt McCullough, Atlanta, GA
  5. #5M – Mike Magic, Winder, GA
  6. #1 – Bobby Zaiontz, Columbus, MS
  7. #88A – Shawn Nelson, Ooltewah, TN
  8. #5B – Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
  9. #98 – Bob Trapino, Alpharetta, GA
  10. #D14 – Darl Parvin, Corinth, MS
  11. #14 – Bo Barber, Clarksville, TN
  12. #21 – Michael Barton, Castalian Springs, TN
  13. #6 – Sean Hosey, Clarksville, TN
  14. #14S – Sam McCullough, Atlanta, GA
  15. #07 – Brandon Taylor, Cumming, GA
  16. #48 – Shane Werner, McDonough, GA


USCS 600 Sprint Race Awards:

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  #68 – Dirk Miller
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  #68 – Dirk Miller Second Heat:  #29 – Kyle Amerson
K&N Filters Pole Award:  #68 – Dirk Miller
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:  #29 – Kyle Amerson
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award:  #29 – Kyle Amerson
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award:  #5M – Mike Magic
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award:  #1 – Bobby Zaiontz
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award:  #D14 – Darl Parvin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *