AUDIO / RECAP: Daniel Hemric Makes it Three Wins in Four Legends Summer Shootout Races

Tom Baker Audio, Carolinas Racing, Featured 0 Comments

AUDIO / RECAP  – Tom Baker – June 26, 2013

The fourth round of the Jack In The Box Summer Shootout for the INEX Bandoleros and Legends cars took place last night on the 1/4-mile oval at Charlotte Motor Speedway.  Following a short delay for lightning in the area, Mother Nature relaxed enough to allow race officials to carry on with the evening’s program and those in attendance were treated to some outstanding racing.

Daniel Hemric in the Tim Ladyga No. 48 took the lead early from Tyler Green in the 30-lap Pro Legends feature and held on for his third win in the four races.  Hemric is racking up Super Late Model wins at a similar clip in the Southern Super Series.  He thrilled the crowd last night with a backflip (respectfully nodding to Carl Edwards) and spoke with me later in the evening to talk about his accomplishments.  Click the link to hear the interview.   June26DanielHemric

Tyler Green finished second in the Pro race with Ryan Shattuck, Justin Swilling and Jordan Black rounding out the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Evan Swilling, Kason Plott, Reid Wilson, Kaz Grala, and Zane Smith.  Gregory Lang, Mackena Bell, Clayton Weatherman, Joey Padgett and Spencer Boyd rounded out the field.

Nick MacMillon picked up the win in the Bandolero Beginner Bandit feature.  Nick went flag-to-flag with his No. 43 outdistancing Matthew Eades, Isabella Robusto, Joshua Kossek and William Robusto to stand proudly on the stage in front of the enthusiastic crowd.

Eighteen cars started the Bandolero Bandits main event.  Carson Werner in the No. 01 had things pretty well in hand for most of the race as he went on to the checkered flag.  Chandler Smith came on strong later in the feature, winging his way through the field to second. Dawson Cram, Justin Taylor and DJ Canipe rounded out the top five.  Austin Greer, Ryleigh Lemonds, Kamera McDonald, Noah Ewing and Sam Audie finished sixth through tenth followed by Liz Montgomery, Brayton Mander, Daniel Wilk, Hayden Humphrey, Richard Kuty, Enzo Fittipaldi, Brayde Miranda and Zachary Dabbs.

The Legends Masters 30-lap feature saw 18 cars take the green and Tom Pistone out front with his No. 72.  Johnny Sossoman never let the leader get too comfortable, keeping the pressure on until he finally was able to get by with just a handful of laps left to take the victory.  Pistone finished second, Robby Faggart third, former NASCAR Nationwide Series champ Jeff Green fourth and Carl Cormier fifth.  Rounding out the top ten were Scott Whitaker, Eddie Harwell, Rodney Tharp, Bruce Silver and Chip Ferguson.  They were followed across the line by Jan Ingram, Jamie Smith, Shawn Geisel, Jody Police, Jim Audie, Carlos Moore, Chris Byerly and Carl Moberg.

The Bandolero Outlaw class saw Austin Green drove a flawless race to get the win.  Behind him there was a see-saw battle throughout the race for the remainder of the top five spots.  The driver on the move was the No. 4 of John Holleman IV, a top young Street Stock racer at Bowman Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C.  “J4” steadily picked off his competitors one by one until he came across in second at the end but Alex Reece, Miguel Cesar and Jacob Brumagin were among those in the dogfight.  Ashley Caldwell, Austin Powell, Chase Purdy, Eric Brown and Sprout Royal also had top ten finishes.  11th through 15th went to Matthew Davey, Jordan Plummer, Jacob Heafner, Jack Freed and Nicholas Ceraolo.  Banks Johnson, Ivan Gudmestad, Nate Tretow, Tal Davidson, Hannah Bell and Kayla Lyons rounded out the field.

The 30-lap Semi-Pro Legends feature was as competitive a race as I’m likely to see all year.  Joe Ryan Osborne, Luke Demis, Ryan Mackintosh, Jay Coen and Riley Halverson all either led or were in the battle for the lead the entire race.  Osborne looked like a winner until a spark plug wire went bad with just a few laps left and he fell to third.  Proving that a race is not over until the checkered flag falls, Joe Ryan kept fighting until his motor found a second life and he charged back into the lead and got the win!  Demis finished a strong second with Mackintosh, Coen and Halverson right in the thick of it and rounding out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were Riley Thornton, Billy Webb, Devin Amos, Sheldon Crouse and Tyler Truex.  The next five finishers were Jordan Stillwell, Adam Welch, Bronson Butcher, Joshua Turner and Craig Biryla.  Sixteenth on back were Joshua Plummer, Tyler Hanberry, Brazilian racer Rafael Durante, Ethan McMillon, Enrique Contreras and Dylan Barbosa.

The Young Lions Legends feature was also an outstanding race as Stevie Johns and Michael Torres set the pace early.  It didn’t take long for Carson Ferguson in the No. 00 and Jared Irvan in the No. 28 to enter the fray along with the No. 07 of Conner Pyle.  Ferguson worked his way to the lead but the heat from behind got hotter and hotter as Pyle and Irvan stayed in contention throughout the rest of the 20-lap distance.  At the checkers it was Ferguson staving off the challenges of Pyle (who had won the week before) and Irvan with Byron and Torres filling out the top five.

Hear an interview with Connor Pyle by clicking this link June26ConnorPyleFINAL

Johns came across the line in sixth, Payton Ryan was seventh, Stefan Parsons eighth, Seth Werner ninth and Dillon Faggart rounding out the top ten.  Finishing out the order were Thomas Gerrald III, Matt Craig, Trent Barnes, Alex Murray, AJ Davis, Doug Barnes, Spencer Davis and Jordan Mander.

Arguably the most entertaining part of the night was the semi-regular “halftime entertainment” – the school bus race.  Members of the Charlotte TV/Radio media did battle in a race that started 7 buses, saw two of them flip over on their sides (no injuries but a lot of laughs!) and a fender-rubbing finish.  The crowd loved every minute of it.

All in all it was a fun (and safe, more importantly) night at the Shootout with some fantastic racing being put on by drivers in both the Legends and Bandolero classes.  Round five takes place next Tuesday – race time is 5pm!

PHOTO CREDIT:  Daniel Hemric

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.