IndyCar Racer Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins Best Driver ESPY Award

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

July 18, 2013 – Story/Photo by Dave Lewandowski – IndyCar Media – Reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay received the ESPY Award as Best Driver during the 21st annual event July 17 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles.

It is the first ESPY Award presented to an Indy car driver since Jimmy Vasser, current co-owner of KV Racing Technology, in 1997. It was the first ESPY nomination for Hunter-Reay, 32, of Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Indianapolis 500 champion Tony Kanaan, Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Brad Keselowski also were nominees in the category that was determined by online voting.

Click it: Post congratulations on our Facebook page

“I can’t thank you all enough for your votes and support,” said Hunter-Reay, who secured the 2012 title in the season finale in a Andretti Autosport car to become the first American to win the series championship since Sam Hornish Jr. in 2006.

Through 12 of 19 races this season, Hunter-Reay is third in the championship standings with two victories and six other top-five finishes in the Chevrolet-powered No. 1 DHL car.

The awards show, which celebrates the year’s best athletes and moments in sports, was hosted by “Mad Men” star Jon Hamm. Robin Roberts, won the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, given to an individual whose contributions transcend sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *