Sheppard Sweeps Super DIRTcar’s Quebec Swing

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Super DIRTcar Series 0 Comments

Matt Sheppard (9), seen here battling Larry Wight earlier in the season, won Wednesday night at Autodrome Drummond in Canada. (Jeremiah Fish photo)

DRUMMONDVILLE, Quebec — Matt Sheppard brought out his broom and swept the Super DIRTcar Series’ Quebec swing on Wednesday night, winning his second-straight series race in a 100-lap slugfest at Autodrome Drummond.

It was a historic night for the series, as Sheppard went into battle with the top local runners at Drummond and came out on top over a pair of Drummond regulars.

“It seems that I’m always fast in Quebec; I’ve always had success up here in Drummond and Granby,” said Sheppared. ”We had a great car and had so much fun up here this week.”

Sheppard had to work hard for his win, with the local runners giving him quite a challenge.

“I saw the bottom starting to rubber up and could feel that my car was hooking up and it helped me keep the lead in the end,” added Sheppard.

History was made as for the first time two Drummond regulars finished on the podium with Steve Bernier in second.

“It took a little time for me to get (into) my groove,” said Bernier. “I don’t race here that much this year and the rubber tricked me a little bit at the end. I tried to have a second line; I was close. We race clean and seems to be Quebec vs. the others. A lot of hard work in the garage by a lot of people paid off tonight.”

Suffering engine issues last night at Granby, third-place finisher Steve Bernard had a very eventful day.

”It was a crazy day today,” said Bernard. “I broke the engine last night, borrowed an engine from Dean Billings at 11 a.m. this morning, I got here late but had fun tonight … started seventh and finished third. I congratulate Bernier for a great run.”

Polesitter Carey Terrance led the field of 31 cars to the green as Bernier was the early leader with David Hebert in third. Terrance was able to the keep the lead back from Bernier early, as the hard charging Hebert was challenging Bernier for second with Peter Britten and Bernard in the top-five over the first 10 laps.

There was a great battle for the lead between Terrance, Bernier and Bernard, as they swapped the top spot when Mike Maresca slowed the field down on lap 15 when he hit the wall in Turn 4. Terrance kept the top position as Bernard challenged Bernier for second, with Brandon Walters bringing the second caution on lap 27 with a right rear flat.

Bernier jumped to the lead on the restart and grabbed the lead on lap 32, while Jimmy Phelps and JF Corriveau brought the caution on lap 38.

Bernier stayed out front as Bernard was able to get second, with Terrance holding third on lap 45. Billy Decker had a flat tire on the No. 91, while he was in a tight battle for a top-five position with 47 laps in the record books.

On a lap-53 restart, Sheppard had a strong run as he challenged for the second position held by Bernard. Sheppard found some grip on the inside lane and took second from Bernard on lap 64. The driver of the No. 9s machine attacked Bernier and took the lead on lap 70 using the inside lane, with Bernard using the same strategy a few laps later and took second from Bernier.

The three leaders went into battle for the lead for the last portion of the feature, with Sheppard using the low lane and never looking back to complete the sweep in Quebec over Bernier, Bernard, Britten and Larry Wight.

Max McLaughlin took the Pole Position Raceway Fast Time Award over the field of 39 registered cars.


RESULTS: Super DIRTcar Series; Autodrome Drummond; July 26, 2017

A-Main (100 laps): 1. Matt Sheppard, 2. Steve Bernier, 3. Steve Bernard, 4. Peter Britten, 5. Larry Wight, 6. Brett Hearn, 7. Stewart Friesen, 8. David Hebert, 9. Carey Terrance, 10. Mario Clair, 11. Mathieu Desjardins, 12. Max McLaughlin, 13. Tim Fuller, 14. Billy Decker, 15. Pat Ward, 16. Billy Whittaker, 17. Dany Bilodeau, 18. Sebastien Gougeon, 19. Yan Bussiere, 20. Jimmy Phelps, 21. Keith Flach, 22. Michael Parent, 23. Alex Therrien, 24. Patrice Demers, 25. Rich Scagliotta, 26. Mike Maresca, 27. Brandon Walters, 28. Alan Therrien, 29. Kevin Hamel, 30. J.F. Corriveau, 31. Gino Clair.

CREDIT: DIRTcar Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.