LOLMDS: Three Straight For Bloomquist; Hall of Famer Scores Lucas Oil Late Model Win at Attica

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Other Dirt Late Models 0 Comments

ATTICA, Ohio — official series release — LOLMDS photo —

Scott Bloomquist took the lead from Steve Casebolt on lap 10 and led the rest of the way for his third consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win on Friday night at Attica Raceway Park.

He was the third different leader of the race, going to victory lane for the 553rd time in his Hall-of-Fame career. Bloomquist all tops the all-time win list on the LOLMDS tour with 59 victories.

Casebolt finished second followed by Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, and Earl Pearson Jr.

“We are running extremely well right now,” Bloomquist said. “Everybody on the team has done their homework. We were all chasing Davenport for most of the season, but in the last few weeks we have made great strides. This is a fun track to drive; you can over drive it and still be OK out there. There is plenty of room to race on this track.”

Devin Moran bolted to the lead at the drop of the initial green flag, and then led the first four circuits until Casebolt took over. Casebolt held the lead until lap ten when Bloomquist got around him.

Casebolt stayed within striking distance of Bloomquist the rest of the race, never letting him pull away. Casebolt closed to within two car lengths at one point as the two reached lapped traffic.

The final caution flag on lap 35 cleared the track for Bloomquist, which led him to victory lane.

“When Davenport and I got together in that heat race, it messed up something on the car,” Bloomquist said. “We changed a few things and it seemed to handle better. There may still be something wrong. We will look over the car tomorrow and get ready for Portsmouth.”

Casebolt finished second and had a strong car the entire 50 laps.

“Devin and I had a good race for a while and then I got to the lead; then here comes Scott [Bloomquist]. We tried to hang in there, the best we could,” Casebolt said. “I’d say a lot of our lap times were probably similar. I was catching him when we started to get into traffic. This Rocket car was great tonight. We definitely had a car capable of winning this race.”

O’Neal narrowly beat out Jimmy Owens for third.

“We have made great improvement over the last few weeks. No doubt about it,” he said. “We got up there and raced with Jimmy [Owens] and Steve [Casebolt]. It’s fun to be running near the front again. Thanks to my crew for all of their hard work.”

Moran set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) among the 33 entrants, with a lap of 14.339 seconds.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.