LOLMDS: Carrier Cashes In With Lucas Late Models At Muskingum

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Lucas Oil Late Models 0 Comments

Eddie Carrier Jr. (center) shared the podium with Hudson O’Neal and Tim McCreadie Monday at Muskingum County Speedway.

ZANESVILLE, Ohio — After Devin Moran suffered mechanical issues that took him out of contention Monday at Muskingum County Speedway, Eddie Carrier Jr. took command en route to his ninth-career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win.

Carrier, who led from lap 25 to the end of the 60-lap main event, becomes the 14th different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

The 46-year-old driver withstood several charges from Scott Bloomquist, who ultimately left the race under caution on lap 48. Afterwards, Carrier went unchallenged the rest of the way.

Hudson O’Neal collected his second-straight podium finish with a career best runner-up finish, outdueling Tim McCreadie in the final laps. Don O’Neal and Josh Richards completed the top five.

“Thank you to Longhorn Chassis, as well as Rick and Jake Keaton for giving me such a good car,” Carrier said. “I am a big guy and to find a car that fits is tough sometimes, but we have had something special going on the last two weeks. We won at Florence last week and to come here and beat these guys, that’s huge.”

“Scott’s [Bloomquist] going to race you clean; he and I have run together so much over the years that we know what to expect out of each other. I was fighting and trying to hold him off.”

Hudson O’Neal closed the gap on fellow LOLMDS Rookie of the Year candidate Gregg Satterlee, who finished in 24th, with his runner-up result.

“What an amazing race track and race; Donnie [Moran] knows what he’s doing,” the 16-year-old said. “Tim [McCreadie] and I had good race, and once I cleared him I thought I had a shot at Eddie. I have to go down there [to the pits] and thank my crew. They have given me a great race car the last two nights.”

McCreadie closed the gap on the top-two in points with his third-place finish.

“Man, when I passed little O’Neal I thought I had a good shot at the win, but he came back and got back around me,” McCreadie said. “The bottom just never took off all night. He [O’Neal] and Devin [Moran] are respectful on and off the race track. It’s hard to find that nowadays … there are some that forget where their right rear quarter-panel is.”


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; Muskingum County Speedway; July 3, 2017

Feature (60 laps): 1. Eddie Carrier Jr., 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Tim McCareadie, 4. Don O’Neal, 5. Josh Richards, 6. Rod Conley, 7. Boom Briggs, 8. Earl Pearson Jr., 9. Jimmy Owens, 10. Mason Zeigler, 11. Scott Bloomquist, 12. Dennis Erb Jr., 13. Ben Mott, 14. Devin Moran, 15. Freddie Carpenter, 16. Steve Francis, 17. Steven Kester, 18. Doug Drown, 19. John Wyer, 20. Rick Mardis, 21. R.J. Conley, 22. Darrell Lanigan, 23. Jared Hawkins, 24. Gregg Satterlee.

CREDIT: Lucas Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.