LOLMDS: Bloomquist Tops Ralph Latham Memorial at Florence For 10th of Season

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Lucas Oil Late Models, MidSouth, Southeast 0 Comments

Scott Bloomquist celebrates his Ralph Latham Memorial win in victory lane Thursday night at Florence Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

Scott Bloomquist celebrates his Ralph Latham Memorial win in victory lane Thursday night at Florence Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

UNION, Ky. – Scott Bloomquist took the lead on lap five and never looked back, driving to victory in the 30th annual Ralph Latham Memorial on Thursday night at Florence Speedway.

The two-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion and current point leader earned $30,000 for his victory. It was his first Ralph Latham Memorial win since 2006.

In a close race for second at the finish, it was Don O’Neal taking the runner-up spot. He was just ahead of Dennis Erb Jr., Bobby Pierce and Jared Landers.

Bloomquist had to hold off a furious charge from O’Neal, Erb and Pierce at the end to get the job done.

“I got the signal they were gaining on me towards the end. I didn’t want to get on top of that cushion,” said Bloomquist, who maintains the points lead with his series-leading 10th win of the season. “You can’t take a chance of messing up and getting into the fence. I stayed right in the middle even in the slick. I can’t say enough about Randy Sweet and all of my other sponsors.”

“I had to be really careful to not spin the tires, it took a lot of poise. I think I got cramps in my legs from pulling back on the accelerator. It’s been a good year so far, and we hope that we can keep it up. We need to get us a North/South win on Saturday.” Bloomquist added, having not won the $50,000-to-win crown jewel event since 2000.

Jackie Boggs took the lead at the start of the race and led the first two laps until he dropped out of the race under a caution flag. Landers then picked up the lead and led for two circuits before Bloomquist, who started sixth, assumed the point for good.

The trio of O’Neal, Erb, and Pierce had a terrific battle for second with Erb getting by Pierce at the flagstand to claim third.

O’Neal was looking for his first LOLMDS win of the season and made a strong statement with his second place finish.

“Man, I just had to drive too hard up there on the cushion,” said O’Neal. “You really needed to be down low like Scott was. We were good enough for second. We need to be a little bit better here for Saturday night to get the win. I really didn’t want to see those caution flags. I think we had something for him in lapped traffic.”

Erb came home in third place for his best-ever finish at the half-mile oval.

“We had a good run tonight and were able to get up and grab third at the end. We had a really good car, and now we just want to get in the field on Saturday night. I think we’ve got a good enough car to win the $50,000.”

Completing the top ten were Billy Moyer, Tim McCreadie, Devin Moran, Jonathan Davenport and Ricky Weiss.


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; Ralph Latham Memorial; Florence Speedway; Aug. 11, 2016

A-Main (75 laps):  1. Scott Bloomquist, 2. Don O’Neal, 3. Dennis Erb Jr., 4. Bobby Pierce, 5. Jared Landers, 6. Billy Moyer, 7. Tim McCreadie, 8. Devin Moran, 9. Jonathan Davenport, 10. Ricky Weiss, 11. Michael Chilton, 12. R.J. Conley, 13. Kent Robinson, 14. Steve Francis, 15. Timothy Culp, 16. Jimmy Owens, 17. Colton Flinner, 18. Earl Pearson Jr., 19. Brandon Sheppard, 20. Jason Feger, 21. Darrell Lanigan, 22. Trevor Landrum, 23. Dustin Linville, 24. Jackie Boggs, 25. Chris Madden.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.