ROC: Sheppard Keeps Right On Rolling With New Yorker Win At Utica-Rome

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Racing Nation 0 Comments

Matt Sheppard en route to the win in the Race Of Champions New Yorker 40 at Utica-Rome Speedway. (Jeremiah Fish photo)

Matt Sheppard en route to the win in the Race Of Champions New Yorker 40 at Utica-Rome Speedway. (Jeremiah Fish photo)

VERNON, N.Y. – Matt Sheppard continued his recent hot streak on Sunday night at Utica-Rome Speedway, taking his sixth-consecutive race victory across multiple series by winning the Race of Champions Dirt Modified Series New Yorker 40.

Sheppard and Rob Bellinger brought the starting field to the green flag with Sheppard assuming the lead.  Bellinger and third place starter Danny Varin put on show as they battled for second while Sheppard pulled away.

A quick yellow flag on lap four brought the field back together and on the restart, Sheppard again flexed his muscle and ran from the rest the field while Bellinger, Varin, Marc Johnson, and Vic Coffey fought for the rest of the top five spots.

The car that was on the move early was 10th place starter Alan Johnson as he moved his way towards the front.

With 10 circuits complete, Alan Johnson was just outside the top five and as the field took the halfway signal, he had moved in the third spot behind Sheppard and Bellinger.

On lap 22, Sheppard began to hit heavy lapped traffic which slowed his pace while Varin was beginning to reassert himself as retook the second spot.

As the laps wound down, Varin closed the gap on the front running Sheppard but ran out of time as Sheppard took the $3,000 win over Varin, Marc Johnson, Alan Johnson and Tim Fuller.

Coffey, Bellinger, Larry Wight, Pat Ward and Ronnie Johnson completed the top 10.

Rocky Warner won the $1,000-to-win Race of Champion Sportsman Series feature.


RESULTS: Race of Champions Dirt Modified Series; New Yorker 40; Utica-Rome Speedway; Sept. 11, 2016

A-Main (40 laps): 1. Matt Sheppard, 2. Danny Varin, 3. Marc Johnson, 4. Alan Johnson, 5. Tim Fuller, 6. Vic Coffey, 7. Rob Bellinger, 8. Larry Wight, 9. Pat Ward, 10. Ronnie Johnson, 11. Chris Hile, 12. Bobby Varin, 13. Jack Miller, 14. Jimmy Davis, 15. Tim Mayne, 16. Steve Way, 17. Andrew Ferguson, 18. Alan Barker, 19. Scott Huber, 20. Brandon Walters, 21. Shaun Pangburn, 22. Tim Murphy, 23. Jim Nagle.

CREDIT: Utica-Rome Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.