V8SC: Slade Shows Solid Form; Wins Second-Career Supercars Pole at Winton

Jack Cobourn International, Supercars 0 Comments

BENALLA, Victoria, Australia — Story by Race Chaser Online International Motorsport Correspondent Jack Cobourn — Robert Cianflone/Getty Images AsiaPac photo —

Tim Slade found some surprising speed at Winton Motor Raceway, grabbing the ARMOR ALL Pole Award for Saturday’s race at the Woodstock Winton SuperSprint.

The pole was Slade’s second of his career, and he was enjoying it fully.

“It’s been a long time between drinks,” Slade said. “It’s been a bumpy road at the same time, so massive thanks to Brad and Kim [Jones, Slade’s team’s principals] and all the boys and girls at BJR, they really deserve this.”

Slade had set fastest the fastest time in practice with a 1:19.2 second lap, but smashed it in qualifying with a clip of 1:19.066 to give Brad Jones Racing its first pole in three years.

Reigning series champion Mark Winterbottom went second on a time of 1:19.097, followed by his teammate Cameron Waters, who put up a lap of 1:19.221.

Scott McLaughlin’s Volvo and the Nissan of Rick Kelly made up the fast five, with six-time champion Jamie Whincup a disappointing ninth on the grid.

Whincup’s Triple Eight teammates were worse off yet, with Shane van Gisbergen 11th and Craig Lowndes ending 14th after qualifying.

Nick Percat was the only car not to be involved in qualifying, due to a misfire that the team hopes will be fixed in time for the race.


RESULTS: International V8 Supercars Championship; ARMOR ALL Pole Qualifying; Winton Motor Raceway; May 21, 2016

  1. Tim Slade
  2. Mark Winterbottom
  3. Cameron Waters
  4. Scott McLaughlin
  5. Rick Kelly
  6. Lee Holdsworth
  7. Will Davison
  8. James Courtney
  9. Jamie Whincup
  10. Chaz Mostert
  11. Shane van Gisbergen
  12. Michael Caruso
  13. Todd Kelly
  14. Craig Lowndes
  15. Fabian Coulthard
  16. Jason Bright
  17. Scott Pye
  18. Tim Blanchard
  19. Chris Pither
  20. David Reynolds
  21. James Moffat
  22. Dale Wood
  23. Garth Tander
  24. Andre Heimgartner
  25. Aaren Russell
  26. Nick Percat (NT)


About the Writer

Jack Cobourn is the international motorsports correspondent at Race Chaser Online, and covers the V8 Supercars Championship, Rally Cars and the FIA World Rally Championship.

Cobourn has been an avid follower of motorsports for years, having not missed a Formula One race in 16 seasons. He is a graduate of the University of Delaware, with a degree in history and a minor in journalism.

Email Jack at: Jack.Cobourn@yahoo.com

Follow Jack on Twitter: @JackCWriter92

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.