USLCI: Jordan Wires Anderson Legends Field For Breakthrough Win

Jacob Seelman Featured, Southeast, US Legends/INEX 0 Comments

Lee Jordan (center) celebrates with his family and crew chief Joe Ryan Osborne (right) in victory lane Friday at Anderson Motor Speedway. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

WILLIAMSTON, S.C. – Lee Jordan proved his dominance of Anderson Motor Speedway’s three-eighths-mile on Saturday night, leading the 20-lap U.S. Legend Cars feature from start-to-finish en route to a stop in victory lane.

The victory came in Jordan’s third race with noted Legends car crew chief and setup guru Joe Ryan Osborne, who wrenched Michael Womack to a comeback win at Hickory Motor Speedway last weekend.

“Joe Ryan had an awesome setup underneath me,” Jordan explained after the finish. “This is only my third race with JR Race Cars … but it’s paying off in a big way. He knows a lot about these cars and it’s an honor to work with him.”

Jordan took the lead quickly off the initial start, but back-to-back cautions on the opening lap meant that it took some time for an early rhythm to be established.

Once that rhythm came into focus, Jordan flexed his muscle, setting the fastest lap of the race on the fifth round and resetting the mark to 17.347 seconds on the seventh round as he pulled out to a 1.5 second lead over Gracie Trotter.

A caution at halfway, for the stalled car of Joshua Stark in turn three, did little to slow Jordan’s momentum. While it brought the field back to his bumper, Jordan was able to hold the lead on the restart, despite a momentary scare after he spun the tires.

While Trotter stayed with him until turn three, from there, Jordan was able to pull away to a one second victory at the checkered flag.

“Gracie had a good chance to catch me on that last restart; I muffed it just a bit but got it back underneath me. We just lucked up tonight.”

“I’m not sure I looked like a veteran, necessarily … but this was a good win,” Jordan said. “This is our second overall win; it’s a big deal for all of us and I’m thankful we were able to take the trophy home.”

Trotter ran second from lap two all the way to the finish, followed by Danny Cisson, Scott Wessel and Tanner Young, who rallied from an opening lap spin to complete the top five.


Feature (20 laps): 1. Lee Jordan [1], 2. Gracie Trotter [2], 3. Danny Cisson [4], 4. Scott Wessel [5], 5. Tanner Young [3], 6. John Zell [6], 7. Matthew Widener [9], 8. Mitchell Hedstrom [7], 9. Salvador Jimenez [11], 10. Joshua Stark [8], 11. Will Bailey [10].


About the Writer

Jacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 22-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at:

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.