SOUTHEAST: Anthony Alfredo and Colby Howard Win Greenville–Pickens Southeast Limited Late Model Mains

Tom Baker Carolinas Racing, Featured, MidSouth, New England, Other Late Models, Southeast, Stock Cars, Touring Series, Uncategorized 0 Comments

EASLEY, S.C. – Official Release – Anthony Alfredo/Falk Racing Photo –

Anthony Alfredo pocketed $3000 for the win at Greenville-Pickens Saturday night in the 100-lap Southeast Limited Late Model Series Pro Division feature after winner Dylan Hall was disqualified in post-race tech for an illegal carburetor base plate.

Other winners at the historic half-mile included Colby Howard in the SELLM Daytona1 Challenger Division, Anthony Anders in the Southeast Super Truck Series, T.J. Lollis in the Southeast Super Stock Series, Tommy Davis in the GPS 4-Cylinders and Greg Porter in the Carolina Vintage Racers main.

In the Pro division, Hall and Howard started in the front row and Hall grabbed the early lead.  It was Ryan Walker, now behind the wheel of the No. 29 driven in the earlier Challenger race by Bob Root, who quickly got into second, shuffling Howard to third.

“The Young One” Luke Sorrow in the Vannoy Construction sponsored No. 9 got tagged from behind and got out of shape, bringing out the yellow flag before could make the save.  He restarted at the back of the field and later and took advantage of a later yellow to pit for adjustments, but a run for the win was not to be on this night for the 14-year-old third generation racer.

Once the race resumed on lap 10, the Falk Racing Flyin’ 5 of Anthony Alfredo began to mount a charge.  Alfredo, a native of Ridgefield, Connecticut who is trying to make a name for himself in the South, winged his way to second and took the lead from Hall as 18 went up on the lap counter.  Walker quickly trapped Hall on the outside and stole second, shuffling the white No. 4 back to third.

Green flag action continued until lap 27 when Andrew Cordell dropped fluid on the track and spun into the third turn wall, collecting Thad Moffitt in the process.  Both cars suffered too much damage to continue and retired from the action.

Nobody knew it at the time, but that would be the final time the race was slowed by caution.  Alfredo set a strong pace for over 60 laps, keeping Walker at bay behind him.  Hall, meanwhile, remained patient back in third, content to save his tires and his race car for a spirited run to the finish.

On lap 84, Hall dove underneath the No .29 of Walker for second and set sail after the 17-year-old Alfredo, who was doing everything he could to squeeze 16 more laps out of his leading race car.

Hall chased Alfredo down and seemingly snatched victory from the northern invader, running away to the finish and setting himself up for a victorious night’s sleep.  Little did he know the win would later be denied by track officials after inspection.

Alfredo drove a winning race, thought he came up just short, and then ended up happy in post-race when he was awarded the victory.  Walker, Howard, Emilee Riley and Blair “Hotshoe” Addis rounded out the top five.

Howard grabbed the early lead in the Daytona1 Challenger division’s 40-lap feature event from his front row inside starting position and never relinquished it en-route to his second win in two weeks at Greenville-Pickens and his first ever win in the Southeast Limited Late Model Series.

Howard, 14, of Simpsonville, South Carolina won the event virtually unchallenged.

Bob Root ran second for most of the event until the hard-charging and rapidly improving No. 56 of Anthony Miller from Asheville, North Carolina finally got by him with just a few laps left.  Miller had been on a steady charge from the back of the field towards the front through the entire race, and his efforts finally paid off with a late-race pass of Root to take second at the checkers.

Root held on for third.  Fourth went to Andrew Cordell, who had a comeback of his own after mechanical issues early in the day saw him load his car, head back to his shop and make some repairs before returning to the historic half-mile midway through the afternoon.  Adam Satterfield rounded out the top five.

Two yellow flags slowed Howard’s pace momentarily.  The first took place on lap 28 when the No. 46 of Thad Moffitt spun in turn two.  Moffitt restarted at the tail of the field. The second yellow waved on lap 30 when the Deuce of Amber Lynn and the No. 23 of Shon Gibson crashed coming out of turn four, ending their race early with damage to both cars.

C.J. Lavair took the lead on lap 11 of the 15-lap main event for the track’s weekly 4-Cylinder class and crossed the finish line first, but was later disqualified in post-race tech, handing the victory to Tommy Davis, Jr.  Chad Redding ended up second with his “Silver Bullet” No.1, while the 23 of Dannon Esco completed the podium with a third place run.  Fourth was Chad Tavernia and fifth went to the No. 3 of Don Tavernia.

Anthony Anders continued his domination of the Southeast Super Truck Series season with a comfortable victory over Randy Porter, Kyle Benjamin, Jamie Altop and Mart Nesbitt.

T.J. Lollis won the Southeast Super Stock 20-lap feature event, and Greg Porter gave the near-capacity crowd a thrill with some celebratory “donuts” after a well-earned win in the Carolina Vintage Racers main.

Next week at Greenville-Pickens, the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Models will return for twin 75-lap features as the battle between the division’s two three-race winners (Chase Purdy and Trey Gibson) continues.  The super stocks, renegades, pure stocks and 4-cylinders will also be on the card.  Gates open at 4pm.  Race time will be at 7pm.

For all the latest updates from Greenville-Pickens Speedway, including start times and admission prices, visit the track website at, ‘Like’ them on Facebook by searching Greenville-Pickens Speedway or follow them on Twitter @GP_Speedway.


Southeast Limited Late Model Pro Division – Anthony Alfredo, Ryan Walker, Colby Howard, Emilee Riley, Blair Addis, Mitchell Mote, Luke Sorrow, Travis Byrd, Ron Hall, Omar Jurado, Andrew Cordell, Thad Moffitt and Dylan Hall (DQ).

Southeast Limited Late Model Daytona1 Challenger Division – Colby Howard, Anthony Miller, Bob Root, Andrew Cordell, Adam Satterfield, Thad Moffitt, Shon Gibson, Amber Lynn and Emilee Riley (DNS)

Greenville-Pickens 4-Cylinders – Tommy Davis, Chad Redding, Dannon Esco, Chad Tavernia, Don Tavernia, Neil Meeks, Hunter Evans, Chris Burkett, Joshua Thomason, Bobby Lavair, Brian Messser, Donavon Beachum, Casey Burkett, Ray Mullinax, Michael Cross, Michael Webster, Travis Barbare, Manual Molleda and Sandra Tavernia. C.J. Lavair DQ.

Southeast Super Truck Series – Anthony Anders, Randy Porter, Kyle Benjamin, Jamie Altop, Mart Nesbitt, Matt Leicht, Ricky Bowers, Ed Surrett, Brad Campbell, Ralph Carnes, Jame Barbery, Ahnna Parkhurst, Terry Seay, Greg Jarrett, Kevin Leicht, Shawn McIntyre, Reese Smith, Tim Lollis, Lee Tissot.

Southeast Super Stocks – T. J. Lollis, Tyler Worley, Scott Franklin, Jason Leatherwood, Sawyer Frady, Steve Carver, Davey Smart, John Gallman, Spencer Childers and John Mamph.

COURTESY:  Official Track PR 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *