PLAINS: Abreu Survives Final Lap Dust-Up For Winged Rock ‘N Roll Gold Cup Glory

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

Rico Abreu (center) won the winged sprint car portion of Sunday night's Rock 'N Roll Gold Cup finale at Badlands Motor Speedway. (BMS photo)

Rico Abreu (center) won the winged sprint car portion of Sunday night’s Rock ‘N Roll Gold Cup finale at Badlands Motor Speedway. (BMS photo)

BRANDON, S.D. – Rico Abreu survived contact with the wall on the last lap to win the winged sprint car portion of the Rock & Roll Gold Cup on Sunday night at Badlands Motor Speedway, earning a $50,000 payday.

Abreu started third after finishing in that position in the 12-lap Scramble. He wasted no time passing front row starters and brothers Tim and Bud Kaeding on the opening circuit. Tim Kaeding retook the lead briefly on the opening lap before Abreu regained it coming out of turn four.

On lap 13, Brady Bacon moved ahead of Abreu, but Abreu again was able to fight back to lead the lap. Tim Kaeding was able to join the fight for the lead on the next lap, but he made contact with the wall in turn one and he began to drop back.

With Kaeding losing positions, Craig Dollansky took third and looked like he might pull off his second win of the weekend, but Bacon was able to hold him off.

On the final lap, Abreu made contact with the turn two wall. That allowed Bacon to dramatically close the gap on Abreu and take one last shot at passing him for the race lead, but he came up short. The margin of victory for Abreu was less than fifteen-hundredths of a second.

Abreu said he got confused over the final laps with respect to adjusting his top wing, explaining that the car felt tight, but that the win was one of the biggest of his career.

“This is right up there at the top with the Chili Bowl and Belleville,” Abreu said.

Dollansky finished third, followed by Jason Solwold and Mark Dobmeier.


RESULTS: Dollar Loan Center 410 Winged Sprint Cars; Rock ‘N Roll Gold Cup; Badlands Motor Speedway; Aug. 21, 2016

A-Main: 1. Rico Abreu, 2. Brady Bacon, 3. Craig Dollansky, 4. Jason Solwold, 5. Mark Dobmeier, 6. Justin Henderson, 7. Paige Polyak, 8. Aaron Retuzel, 9. Dusty Zomer, 10. Tim Kaeding, 11. Paul Nienhiser, 12. Austin McCarl, 13. Ryan Bickett, 14. Joe Riedel, 15. John Lambertz, 16. Dusty Ballenger, 17. Matt Juhl, 18. Thomas Kennedy, 19. Ian Madsen, 20. Dylan Peterson, 21. Brant O’Banion, 22. Cody Hansen, 23. Bud Kaeding, 24. Jody Rosenboom.

CREDIT: SLS Promotions for Badlands Motor Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.