NWMT: Defending Bristol Winner Ryan Preece Fastest In Final Modified Practice

Kyle Souza 0 Comments

BRISTOL, Tenn. —

Ryan Preece went to the top of the charts in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour final practice Wednesday at Bristol Motor Speedway. (Bobby Ellis/Getty Images for NASCAR photo)

Ryan Preece went to the top of the charts in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour final practice Wednesday at Bristol Motor Speedway. (Bobby Ellis/Getty Images for NASCAR photo)

Defending Bristol Motor Speedway NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour winner Ryan Preece was fastest in the final practice session at Bristol on Wednesday afternoon.

Preece posted a fast lap of 133.259 mph around the 0.533-mile oval behind the wheel of his No. 6 for Eddie and Connie Partridge, sponsored by TS Haulers. Preece was able to win last season in the rain-shortened Bush’s Beans 150 and will look for his second straight Bristol victory.

Defending NWMT champion Doug Coby was second in the session, improving from his 12th place effort earlier this morning. Coby’s fast time was a 132.938 mph at the controls of his No. 2 Dunleavy Truck and Trailer Repair mount for LFR Chassis. He is searching his first ever Bristol victory.

Donny Lia, who was fastest in the first session on Wednesday morning, was third in the final round. Burt Myers was fourth and rounding out the top five was Kyle Bonsignore. The top five included three drivers from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and two from the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour as this is a combination race for the two classes.

Todd Szegedy went sixth in final practice, with NASCAR Sprint Cup Series star Ryan Newman ending seventh. Eric Goodale, Patrick Emerling and Justin Bonsignore were the final few in the top-10.

Whelen Modified Tour teams return to the track for Coors Light Pole Qualifying for tonights Bush’s Beans 150 coming up at 3:15 p.m. For live updates, follow Race Chaser Online on Twitter, @RaceChaser News and on Facebook.


RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Final Practice; Bristol Motor Speedway; August 17, 2016

  1. Ryan Preece
  2. Doug Coby
  3. Donny Lia
  4. Burt Myers
  5. Kyle Bonsignore
  6. Todd Szegedy
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Eric Goodale
  9. Patrick Emerling
  10. Justin Bonsignore
  11. Brendon Bock
  12. Jimmy Blewett
  13. Chase Dowling
  14. Ron Silk
  15. Bobby Santos III
  16. George Brunnhoelzl III
  17. Matt Swanson
  18. Bobby Measmer Jr.
  19. Timmy Solomito
  20. JR Bertuccio
  21. Rob Summers
  22. Kyle Ebersole
  23. James Civali
  24. Rowan Pennink
  25. Bryan Dauzat
  26. Jeff Goodale
  27. Gary Putnam
  28. Andy Seuss
  29. Jason Myers
  30. Jeremy Gerstner
  31. Danny Bohn
  32. Gary McDonald
  33. Wade Cole
  34. Jamie Tomaino
  35. Melissa Fifield
  36. Max Zachem


EDITORS NOTE: The featured photo for the piece is credit to NASCAR Home Tracks


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at: kylesouza34@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.