NCWTS: KBM Keeps Rolling; Christopher Bell Fastest In First Practice at Bristol

Kyle Souza 0 Comments


Christopher Bell was fastest in the first of two practice sessions at Bristol Wednesday. (Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images North America photo)

BRISTOL, Tenn. — Kyle Busch Motorsports continues to roll in NASCAR’s Camping World Truck Series.

Already with seven wins as a team this year, KBM driver Christopher Bell paced the first of two truck practice sessions on Wednesday morning behind the wheel of his No. 4 JBL Audio Toyota Tundra.

Bell posted a fast lap of 15.535 seconds (123.515 mph) around the 0.533-mile oval.

Timothy Peters was second in the session, showing some speed as he searches his first victory of the season and hoping to lock himself into the Chase Grid at the conclusion of today’s UNOH 200. Peters’ fast lap was a time of 15.600 seconds (123.000 mph).

Former Chili Bowl winner and dirt racing standout Rico Abreu was third. Abreu posted a fast lap of 15.600 seconds (123.000 mph) around the famed oval.

KBM driver Daniel Suarez posted a fast time of 15.608 seconds (122.937 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 51 machine, good enough for fourth-fastest. Suarez is in search of his first career win at ‘Thunder Valley’.

Behind Suarez was Cole Custer, who toured the track in 15.621 seconds (122.835 mph) behind the wheel of the No. 00 Haas Automation Chevrolet Silverado. Custer was the car to beat for much of last season’s Bristol Truck race, leading 111 laps but being relegated late to a 16th place finish.

Tyler Reddick, Ben Rhodes, Matt Crafton, John Hunter Nemechek and Cameron Hayley rounded out the balance of the top-10 in the first practice session.

The division returns to the track at 11:30 a.m. for final practice. The UNOH 200 is scheduled to go green just after 8:30 p.m.


RESULTS: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series First Practice; Bristol Motor Speedway; Aug. 17, 2016

  1. Christopher Bell
  2. Timothy Peters
  3. Rico Abreu
  4. Daniel Suarez
  5. Cole Custer
  6. Tyler Reddick
  7. Ben Rhodes
  8. Matt Crafton
  9. John Hunter Nemechek
  10. Cameron Hayley
  11. Spencer Gallagher
  12. Brett Moffitt
  13. Johnny Sauter
  14. William Byron
  15. Jake Griffin
  16. Austin Hill
  17. Jesse Little
  18. Stewart Friesen
  19. Brandon Jones
  20. Ben Kennedy
  21. John Wes Townley
  22. Parker Kligerman
  23. Caleb Holman
  24. Kaz Grala
  25. Jordan Anderson
  26. Austin Cindric
  27. Brandon Brown
  28. Tommy Joe Martins
  29. Austin Wayne Self
  30. Matt Mills
  31. Clay Greenfield
  32. Travis Kvapil
  33. Cody McMahan
  34. Donnie Levister
  35. Bryce Napier
  36. Daniel Hemric


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at:

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.