ASCS: Jamie Ball Wires the Field For Opening Night Win at 360 Knoxville Nationals

RaceChaser Staff Uncategorized 0 Comments

Jamie Ball won the first preliminary night of the Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville Nationals on Thursday. (Bing Bang Media photo)

Jamie Ball won the first preliminary night of the Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville Nationals on Thursday. (Bing Bang Media photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — For the third time in his career at the Knoxville Raceway, Jamie Ball wheeled his J.J. Kane Auctioneers No. 5J around the Marion County half-mile perfectly for 20 laps for victory on night one of the 26th annual Arnold Motor Supply ASCS 360 Knoxville Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank.

Timing in 13th, Ball was the final transfer from the third heat, giving him the pole for the feature.

“I’d rather be lucky than good any day,” chuckled Ball when asked about his night and the way everything shook out. “Our qualifying numbers lacked a little bit because of a bad draw, but these guys are the best here. I’d put them up against anyone. We are so prepared, you know, you win races in the shop and our hours of hard work show it, and I know our wives can attest that we’ve put a lot of work into this.”

Ball’s first preliminary night victory in the $15,000-to-win Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank, the win is also the Iowa native’s first with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, making Ball the 134th different winner in National Tour competition.

Outdueling Bryan Clauson twice on the start following a red for Kade Higday, the No. 5j was challenged the first couple before starting to pull away only to see a caution on the third round as Nate Van Haaften slowed off the fourth turn.

With Clauson in tow on the restart, Ball built his advantage quickly as Clauson worked to hold off the No. 17x of Josh Baughman, who eventually worked to the runner-up spot on lap five. Stalking Jamie Ball as the pair approached slower traffic, the gap closed very little as the No. 5j weaved through the backmarkers.

Shuffling the remainder of the top five as the race worked past the halfway point, the race on the track brewed for second as Sammy Swindell wheeled the Acme Graphix No. 3s around Baughman on the sixteenth lap.

Though Swindell closed slightly on Jamie, the laps would run out as the No. 5J crossed 1.533 seconds ahead of the three-time World of Outlaws sprint car champion.

Baughman held on for third with Terry McCarl grabbing the fourth spot. Having to advance out of the B-main, Danny Lasoski rocketed from 21st to complete the top five in the Parker Burch Motorsports No. 1m.


RESULTS: Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour; Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville Nationals: Night One; Knoxville Raceway; Aug. 4, 2016

Protect The Harvest A-Main (20 laps): 1. Jamie Ball (1); 2. Sammy Swindell (3); 3. Josh Baughman (5); 4. Terry McCarl (4); 5. Danny Lasoski (21); 6. Ian Madsen (9); 7. Tony Shilling (7); 8. Bryan Clauson (2); 9. Justin Henderson (8); 10. Ryan Giles (6); 11. Cory Eliason (13); 12. Aaron Reutzel (21); 13. Seth Brahmer (10); 14. Matt Covington (14); 15. Sawyer Phillips (12); 16. Ryan Roberts (22); 17. JT Imperial (15); 18. Brandon Hanks (23); 19. Cody Ledger (17); 20. Devon Dobie (11); 21. Daniel Harding (20); 22. Ricky Montgomery (18); 23. Nate Van Haaften (24); 24. Kade Higday (16).

Lap Leader: Ball 1-20.
Hard Charger: Lasoski (+16)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.