ASCoC: Montieth Steals Jack Gunn Memorial Win; Keeps Posse Perfect At Williams Grove

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

Brian Montieth won Friday night’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

Brian Montieth won Friday night’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — What looked like Lance Dewease’s race turned out to be Brian Montieth’s victory in the All Star Circuit of Champions Jack Gunn Memorial at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

A week after Montieth’s second victory of the season, he scored his third with a last lap pass of Dewease after losing the top spot to him earlier on the 13th circuit in the 30-lap main.

The win was also Monteith’s fourth career with the All Stars and first in the Jack Gunn Memorial.

Montieth jumped from his pole position to the lead over second starter Dewease at the start of the Gunn Memorial All Stars main and hit traffic on the eighth tour with Dewease in tow.

It was about that time that Dewease began really biting into Montieth’s advantage, cutting it down to .132 seconds as the pair crossed the stripe to complete lap 12.

During the ensuing tour, Dewease motored into the lead, as most had been expecting, while Tim Shaffer raced a close third on the track.

Once in front Dewease drove away from the field, building nearly a two second lead over Montieth with eight laps to go.

But during the final five circuits, Dewease’s car began to seemingly struggle as it traversed the straightaways, allowing Montieth to close as he hooked the cushion for closing power every lap.

And with three laps to go, it was clear the race was going to be contested again before the finish.

The pair crossed under the one-to-go mark nose to tail before Montieth bolted to Dewease’s inside in the first corner to make a last-lap pass for the win.

Dewease tried to turn the car off of the second turn and get back underneath Montieth as the pair blasted onto the back chute but Montieth was clearly superior at that point as he pulled away onto the back chute for the $5,000 victory plus another $250 for making a last-lap pass for the checkers.

“Once he got by it was hero or zero,” said Montieth of getting passed by Dewease for the lead. “Those last three or four laps, I really pushed myself. That’s what you have to do against those guys. Donnie and Lance; those guys are just so consistent during the entire race. We were gonna win this thing or ball it up.”

“If it wasn’t for the curb, I don’t think I would have caught them. To be here in victory lane, with the season those guys are having, feels great. We are thrilled to be here.”

By claiming the victory, Montieth pushed the score by the Pennsylvania Posse to 30 and 0 over the All Stars in their 30 appearances to date at the track since 1970.

Dewease commented on what he felt lost him the race late.

“We were kinda hanging on there at the end,” he explained. “I made my big mistake up there in three and four on the last lap. I was gonna fly (back by) Lucas and he moved down so I went to the top and I just didn’t carry any momentum down the frontstretch.”

Shaffer, who set quick time earlier in the night at 16.748, rode home third ahead of Stevie Smith and Greg Hodnett.

In the 20-lap 305 sprint feature, Darren Miller took the win for his first of the season anywhere in the division.

Full Results


RESULTS: All Stars Circuit of Champions; Jack Gunn Memorial; Williams Grove Speedway; Aug. 19, 2016

A-Main (30 Laps): 1. 21M-Brian Montieth[1] ; 2. 69K-Lance Dewease[2] ; 3. 13-Tim Shaffer[3] ; 4. 51S-Stevie Smith[4] ; 5. 27-Greg Hodnett[5] ; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich[7] ; 7. 1-Dale Blaney[6] ; 8. 19m-Brent Marks[15] ; 9. O7-Doug Esh[12] ; 10. 51-Freddie Rahmer[13] ; 11. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[19] ; 12. 11c-Cory Haas[10] ; 13. 10H-Chad Kemenah[11] ; 14. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[17] ; 15. 70-Danny Holtgraver[9] ; 16. 1Z-Lucas Wolfe[16] ; 17. 52-Austin Hogue[20] ; 18. 11K-Kraig Kinser[21] ; 19. 1*-Tim Wagaman[8] ; 20. 5-Chase Dietz[18] ; 21. 44-Rodney Westhafer[22] ; 22. 75-Nicole Bower[26] ; 23. 94-Ryan Smith[14] ; 24. 21-Cap Henry[23] ; 25. 0-Rick Lafferty[24] ; 26. 25-Aaron Ott[25]

Qualifying (two laps): 1.13-Tim Shaffer, 16.748; 2.69K-Lance Dewease, 16.905; 3.27-Greg Hodnett, 16.961; 4.10H-Chad Kemenah, 17.005; 5.1-Dale Blaney, 17.025; 6.51S-Stevie Smith, 17.062; 7.48-Danny Dietrich, 17.065; 8.O7-Doug Esh, 17.086; 9.1Z-Lucas Wolfe, 17.098; 10.21M-Brian Montieth, 17.131; 11.1*-Tim Wagaman, 17.134; 12.51-Freddie Rahmer, 17.184; 13.87-Alan Krimes, 17.209; 14.44-Rodney Westhafer, 17.213; 15.3Z-Brock Zearfoss, 17.215; 16.94-Ryan Smith, 17.250; 17.70-Danny Holtgraver, 17.252; 18.19m-Brent Marks, 17.261; 19.25-Aaron Ott, 17.268; 20.5-Chase Dietz, 17.315; 21.21-Cap Henry, 17.363; 22.0-Rick Lafferty, 17.397; 23.11c-Cory Haas, 17.433; 24.57X-Andrew Palker, 17.478; 25.11K-Kraig Kinser, 17.481; 26.93-Sheldon Haudenschild, 17.498; 27.52-Austin Hogue, 17.513; 28.81-Lee Jacobs, 17.537; 29.40-Caleb Helms, 17.543; 30.75-Nicole Bower, 17.609; 31.60-Kory Crabtree, 17.635; 32.35-Daryl Stimeling, 17.927; 33.49H-Bradley Howard, 18.069; 34.83-Cody Fairchok, 18.243; 35.12w-Troy Fraker, 18.676; 36.8M-TJ Michael, 99.990;

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1*-Tim Wagaman[1] ; 2. 69K-Lance Dewease[3] ; 3. 10H-Chad Kemenah[2] ; 4. 13-Tim Shaffer[4] ; 5. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[6] ; 6. 81-Lee Jacobs[8] ; 7. 21-Cap Henry[7] ; 8. 87-Alan Krimes[5] ; 9. 83-Cody Fairchok[9]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 51S-Stevie Smith[4] ; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich[3] ; 3. O7-Doug Esh[2] ; 4. 19m-Brent Marks[5] ; 5. 5-Chase Dietz[6] ; 6. 0-Rick Lafferty[7] ; 7. 60-Kory Crabtree[8] ; 8. 44-Rodney Westhafer[1]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 11c-Cory Haas[1] ; 2. 21M-Brian Montieth[3] ; 3. 51-Freddie Rahmer[2] ; 4. 1Z-Lucas Wolfe[4] ; 5. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[7] ; 6. 11K-Kraig Kinser[6] ; 7. 57X-Andrew Palker[5] ; 8. 40-Caleb Helms[8] ; 9. 75-Nicole Bower[9]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 70-Danny Holtgraver[1] ; 2. 1-Dale Blaney[3] ; 3. 94-Ryan Smith[2] ; 4. 27-Greg Hodnett[4] ; 5. 52-Austin Hogue[6] ; 6. 25-Aaron Ott[5] ; 7. 35-Daryl Stimeling[7] ; 8. 12w-Troy Fraker[9]

Dash (6 Laps): 1. 21M-Brian Montieth[1] ; 2. 69K-Lance Dewease[5] ; 3. 13-Tim Shaffer[2] ; 4. 51S-Stevie Smith[3] ; 5. 27-Greg Hodnett[6] ; 6. 1-Dale Blaney[4] ; 7. 48-Danny Dietrich[7] ; 8. 1*-Tim Wagaman[8]

B-Main (12 Laps): 1. 25-Aaron Ott[3] ; 2. 44-Rodney Westhafer[2] ; 3. 11K-Kraig Kinser[7] ; 4. 0-Rick Lafferty[5] ; 5. 57X-Andrew Palker[6] ; 6. 21-Cap Henry[4] ; 7. 81-Lee Jacobs[8] ; 8. 35-Daryl Stimeling[12] ; 9. 75-Nicole Bower[10] ; 10. 60-Kory Crabtree[11] ; 11. 12w-Troy Fraker[14] ; 12. 40-Caleb Helms[9] ; 13. 83-Cody Fairchok[13] ; 14. 87-Alan Krimes[1] ; 15. 49H-Bradley Howard[15]

CREDIT: Williams Grove Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.