ARCA/CRA: Winchester’s World Stock Car Festival On Tap For ARCA/CRA Super Series

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

SALEM, Ind. – The ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by JEGS will continue its historic 20th season of competition Monday on the famous high banks of Winchester Speedway as part of the Labor Day Weekend World Stock Car Festival.

The weekend will feature exciting racing action from the ARCA/CRA Super Series, JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance, Broaster Chicken ICAR Top Speed Modifieds, Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman, CRA Street Stocks, Vores Touring Compacts and Thunder Roadsters.

This event always brings out the best of CRA and some of the best drivers from around the country as they prepare for the 45th annual Winchester 400, which will take place on Sunday, Oct. 9. Erik Jones won his third straight Winchester 400 last year on his way to claiming the JEGS/CRA $100,000 Super Late Model Triple Crown. The ARCA/CRA Super Series has had 43 events to date at Winchester Speedway. Three time ARCA/CRA Super Series Champion Johnny VanDoorn is the series all-time winner at Winchester Speedway with five wins.

Current ARCA/CRA Super Series point’s leader Cody Coughlin leads a strong group of CRA competitors entered for Saturday’s race. Coughlin has a series leading three wins so far this season. Coughlin is also the point’s leader in the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour with two wins so far this season in that series. Coughlin was the 2014 winner of this event, his first ARCA/CRA Super Series win and he finished second to Jones in last year’s Winchester 400.

Second in series championship, Dalton Armstrong is entered and comes in with a lot of confidence after getting the biggest win of his career in the July 16th 50th Annual Redbud 300 at Anderson Speedway. The Senneker Performance Rookie of the Year point’s leader has two series wins so far this season and is only 13 points behind Coughlin.

2013 and 2014 ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Travis Braden is entered driving for 2015 JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour car owner champion Bill Burba. Braden finished second to Jones in the 2014 Winchester 400, putting on an epic battle for the win before having to settle for second. Braden picked up a win with the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour on Aug. 6 at Spitzer Motor Speedway.

Three-time series champion Scott Hantz, who is tied with former two time series champion Brian Ross, Bull Baker and Erik Jones for second with the most series wins at Winchester with three apiece (including the 2006 Winchester 400, is entered for this weekend’s event. Hantz is the series all-time wins leader with 31.

Other top CRA drivers entered for this weekend include third-place points man Wes Griffith Jr., current Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman points leader Eddie Van Meter and second in Sportsman points Terry Fisher Jr. Former ARCA/CRA Super Series Winchester winner Rick Turner is entered.

JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour regular competitors rookie Jack Dossey III and Tristan Van Wieringen are both entered for Monday’s race. Part time CRA competitor Hunter Jack is entered. He has won nine feature events in the late models at Angola Motor Speedway this season. CRA competitor Fred Hopkins is entered and scheduled to make his season series debut on Monday.

Former two-time series Labor Day event winner Jeff Fultz is entered. The Mooresville, N.C., native is a former regular competitor on the high banks in several divisions prior to moving to North Carolina to further his racing career. Todd Gilliland, son of former NASCAR competitor David Gilliland, is entered in the potent Kyle Busch Motorsports entry. Gilliland is the point’s leader in the NASCAR K&N Pro West Series with five wins to date.

Florida native Dalton Sargeant is entered as well. Sargeant picked up his first ARCA Racing Series victory earlier this month at Berlin Raceway. Tennessee native Mason Mingus, a former full-time competitor in the ARCA/CRA Super Series before moving up and racing in the ARCA Racing Series and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, is also on the entry list.

Also entered are Southern Super Series championship leader Donnie Wilson, young gun Zane Smith and California’s Tyler Ankrum.

CREDIT: CRA Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.