CRA: Campbell Bests Jones For Kalamazoo Victory in Battle of Michigan Natives

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Stock Cars, Touring Late Models 0 Comments

Brian Campbell celebrates after winning Wednesday's ARCA/CRA Super Series race at Kalamazoo Speedway. (Tom DeVette photo)

Brian Campbell celebrates after winning Wednesday’s ARCA/CRA Super Series race at Kalamazoo Speedway. (Tom DeVette photo)

KALAMAZOO, Mich. — In a tussle between two talented Michigan natives, veteran Brian Campbell overcame the extreme heat and fought off NASCAR XFINITY Series points leader Erik Jones to take Wednesday night’s ARCA/CRA Super Series win at Kalamazoo Speedway.

On a day that saw heat indexes rise over 105 degrees, Campbell put on a show with Jones, battling tooth-and-nail with the talented young gun before finally taking the lead on lap 89. He ultimately went on to score his second series win of the season and the 20th of his star-studded career.

“It felt like a 125 laps of qualifying tonight — we never let up and there was no time to breathe tonight,” Campbell said in victory lane. “At the beginning it was just mediocre, and then it really started to get fast towards the middle, and I never let up. I’m telling you, I never took a breath.”

“It was a good clean race and a great battle with Erik. Obviously where he is in his career, he’s one of the best, so it feels good to come home one better tonight!”

Chris Koslek led the field to the green flag from the pole starting after Jones, the EDCO Welding Fast Qualifier, pulled a nine pill for the invert. Koslek took the lead and held it until Jones was able to battle through the field, passing him for the top spot on lap 38 with Campbell following closely behind.

A caution on lap 88 set up the final battle, as Jones and Campbell fought side by side for several laps before Campbell was able to slip by and finally take the lead.

Jones pressured Campbell all the way to the checkers, but had to settle for second in the end. He was trailed by Johnny VanDoorn, Koslek and Grant Quinlan.

Jason Timmerman, Steve Dorer, Jordan Dahlke, Buddy Head and Wes Griffith Jr. rounded out the top 10.

CREDIT: CRA Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.