Johnson & Marshall End Outlaws Partnership

RaceChaser Staff Featured, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 1 Comment

Jason Johnson and Richard Marshall have ended their World of Outlaws partnership. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

ROCKY MOUNT, Mo. – Jason Johnson Racing and Marshall Racing have announced an amicable and mutual separation from their team partnership that competed on the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series over the past year.

As such, Jason and Bobbi Johnson will return as sole owners of the JJR No. 41 sprint car as they enter the 2018 season.

“I appreciate the support and time we have had with Richard and Jennifer Marshall since they joined our team as sponsors initially, which eventually grew into a partnership for the 2017 season,” said Johnson. “They are both influential people that have a passion for the sport and supported and encouraged us to make us better on and off the track. I wish them only continued success as they move forward with their racing endeavors.”

During their season of partnership in 2017, the Johnson/Marshall team raced to four wins, 27 top-five and 51 top-10 finishes, including a triumph in the opening race of the season at Volusia Speedway Park during the DIRTcar Nationals.

A career highlight for both parties came in August of 2016, when Johnson took the checkered flag to win the Knoxville Nationals with major sponsorship from Marshall’s company, Priority Aviation.

“We will never forget that night as it was rewarding to celebrate with Richard, Jennifer and all of our sponsorship partners and supporters as we came together to win the biggest race in sprint car racing – the Knoxville Nationals,” Johnson added.

Johnson is a five-time ASCS National Tour champion owner, winning the quintet of crowns in succession from 2010 through 2014, as well as the 2015 World of Outlaws Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year and 2016 Knoxville Nationals champion.

The Ragin’ Cajun has finished in the top-10 in World of Outlaws points in back-to-back seasons, ranking seventh in 2016 and improving one spot to sixth in this season’s standings.

Long-time crew chief Philip Dietz and crewman Jeff Bingaman will return to the team next year and are busy preparing for the upcoming season.

Of note, Shark Racing announced on Twitter in the wake of the JJR-MR partnership dissolution that Priority Aviation has joined the No. 1s team and driver Logan Schuchart as a sponsor for the upcoming season.

The 2018 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series campaign kicks off Feb. 9-11 with the DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park.

Jason Johnson Racing and Shark Racing contributed material to this staff report.

Comments 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.