Shamrock Classic Entry List Soars Past 40 Cars

Richie Murray Featured, USAC 0 Comments

Spencer Bayston leads a list of seven Keith Kunz Motorsports entries into next Saturday’s Shamrock Classic. (TeeJay Crawford photo)

DUQUOIN, Ill. – The entry list for the Shamrock Classic has soared to more than 40 ahead of the USAC P1 Insurance Midget National Championship season opener on March 10 at the Southern Illinois Center.

Among the latest drivers entered are a full fleet from the Keith Kunz Motorsports/Curb-Agajanian stable, which will field seven cars for the third annual event.

Spencer Bayston headlines the group as the defending USAC National Midget champion, while Californians Ryan Robinson (Foresthill) and Tanner Carrick (Lincoln) return to the lineup once again. Robinson is in his third full season and Carrick will be tackling his sophomore campaign.

Newcomers to the team include reigning POWRi Midget champ Logan Seavey, who is also gunning for top rookie honors in the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car division. Tucker Klaasmeyer moves over to the KKM team after successful seasons in his family-owned ride the past few years, while Missouri’s Sam Johnson is the youngest of the group at 15 in his first season behind the wheel of a midget.

Harli White will make her debut for KKM at the Shamrock Classic, substituting for Holly Shelton, who is recovering from a shoulder injury.

The KKM team is the latest to win in USAC Midget competition at the Southern Illinois Center, capturing last December’s Junior Knepper 55 with NASCAR star Christopher Bell at the controls.

Additional new entries were filed by car owner Wayne Lesher for reigning ARDC Midget champion Ryan Greth, as well as 2016 Bloomington Speedway Indiana Sprint Week feature winner Brent Beauchamp, who has entered his own familiar No. 11.

Previously announced entries include two past Southern Illinois Center winners and teammates Justin Grant and Tyler Courtney, as well as USAC Rookie of the Year candidate Zeb Wise, who combine to form a formidable three-car Clauson/Marshall Racing lineup.

Current USAC National Sprint Car point leader Kevin Thomas Jr. and USAC Triple Crown champ Jerry Coons Jr. make up a stout two-car team for Petry/Goff Motorsports, while reigning NASCAR Truck Series Rookie of the Year Chase Briscoe is entered to drive his own No. 5.

Standouts Thomas Meseraull (Dooling-Hayward No. 63) and Tyler Thomas (Tyler Thomas No. 91T) are on the entry list too.

Two-time USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Champion Brady Bacon and FMR Racing have teamed up for another go at a title run, while six-time USAC National Midget winner Chad Boat has entered the event as one of two drivers in the Tucker/Boat Motorsports stable alongside series rookie contender Zane Hendricks.

C.J. Leary intends to make a rare midget start for Gray Auto, for whom he made a pair of starts with back in 2015.

Billy Wease has found big success in his midget racing career, winning the Turkey Night Grand Prix at Irwindale (Calif.) Speedway in 2006. Additionally, he’s won a USAC Midget race indoors at the Fort Wayne Memorial Coliseum in 2007. Both experiences bode well for the veteran driver as he pilots the Amanda Wease-owned No. 12.

The $3,900-to-win USAC Midget purse honors the memory of Bryan Clauson’s success in car No. 39 at the Southern Illinois Center over the years. The additional $900 added to the winner’s share is courtesy of Stenhouse Jr. Racing. Factory Canopies has also come aboard to give their support to the event.

In addition, micro sprints are on the card with a $700-to-win, $3,000 total feature purse. The format will utilize passing points to lock 12 drivers into the night’s feature through the heat races, with four more from each B-Main locking into the 20-car lineup.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *