Chris Windom Leads USAC Practice At Ocala

Richie Murray Featured, USAC 0 Comments

Chris Windom was fastest in Wednesday’s open practice for USAC sprint cars at Bubba Raceway Park. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

OCALA, Fla. — Reigning AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series champion Chris Windom led a field of 30 drivers on practice night of Winter Dirt Games IX by recording the fastest lap of the night at Bubba Raceway Park.

Windom put his Baldwin Brothers Racing machine at the top of the leaderboard with an unofficial lap of 13.601 seconds on the three-eighths-mile oval, a mark that dipped below the existing one-lap track record of 13.683 seconds, set by Justin Grant during qualifying one year ago.

Dave Darland (13.671), Kevin Thomas Jr. (13.700), Justin Grant (13.784) and Jarett Andretti (13.817) comprised the remainder of the top five behind Windom in the open practice.

Also of note, in the numerical oddity department, four drivers: Nick Bilbee (10th), Timmy Buckwalter (11th), Isaac Chapple (12th) and Mario Clouser (13th) all recorded identical times of 14.013 seconds.

USAC’s Winter Dirt Games continue the next three nights, with full programs on Thursday, Friday and Saturday each headlined by a 30-lap feature.


PRACTICE TIMES: AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series; Bubba Raceway Park; Feb. 14, 2018

Fastest Lap Time (in seconds): 1. Chris Windom, 5, Baldwin-13.601; 2. Dave Darland, 36D, Goodnight-13.671; 3. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 69, Dynamics-13.700; 4. Justin Grant, 4, TOPP-13.784; 5. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-13.817; 6. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-13.858; 7. Tyler Courtney, 7BC, Clauson Marshall Newman-13.864; 8. Kyle Cummins, 3c, EZR/Cummins-13.942; 9. Tyler Clem, 14c, Clem/TSR-13.973; 10. Nick Bilbee, 2E, Epperson-14.013; 11. Timmy Buckwalter, 7, LNB-14.013; 12. Isaac Chapple, 52, LNR/Chapple-14.013; 13. Mario Clouser, 6, MCM-14.013; 14. Brady Bacon, 63, Dooling/Hayward-14.014; 15. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-14.016; 16. Landon Simon, 24, LSR-14.110; 17. C.J. Leary, 30, Leary-14.111; 18. Carson Short, 21, RCM-14.140; 19. Garrett Aitken, 32A, Aitken-14.152; 20. Kody Swanson, 3R, Rock Steady-14.221; 21. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-14.245; 22. Kent Schmidt, 5K, Schmidt-14.306; 23. Chad Boespflug, 98, NineEight-14.357; 24. Logan Seavey, 5B, Briscoe-14.503; 25. Brandon Mattox, 28, Mattox-14.583; 26. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-14.685; 27. Coleman Gulick, 14, Scorpion-14.994; 28. Johnny Petrozelle, 59, Petrozelle-15.358; 29. Robert Bell, 71, Bell-16.219; 30. Slater Helt, 22s, Helt-NT


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *