ARP Posts $50,000 Bonus For Turkey Night Double

Jacob Seelman Featured, USAC 0 Comments


Rico Abreu (97K) and Tanner Thorson were two of last year’s favorites in the Turkey Night Grand Prix. (Brendon Bauman photo)

VENTURA, Calif. — Any driver brave enough to tackle the challenge of ‘Double Duty’ this Thanksgiving during the 77th annual Turkey Night Grand Prix at Ventura Raceway will have 50,000 reasons to smile, should they happen to win twice in one day.

Automotive Racing Products, in conjunction with speedway officials, has unveiled the ARP Midget & Sprint Car $50,000-To-Win Challenge.

With the program, should one driver win both the USAC National Midget Series feature and the companion Ventura Racing Association 360 non-winged sprint car feature, they will collect a $50,000 bonus check for their efforts.

The fifth-mile Oceanside dirt track saw a field of 53 midgets last year attempt to make the starting field for the 98-lap main event, along with 43 cars in the 360 non-winged sprint car class.

However, the bonus money encourages drivers to crossover between both classes, pitting the top drivers in North American dirt open wheel racing against one another in a quest for glory.

Ventura Raceway will host the Turkey Night Grand Prix for the second-straight season this year, following the event’s move from Perris Auto Speedway after the 2015 running.

Prior to last year, the Turkey Night Grand Prix was held at Ventura in 1997. That year’s race was won by Billy Boat, for his third-consecutive victory in the Thanksgiving classic.

Kyle Larson is the reigning winner of the event, which traces its roots back to California’s Gilmore Stadium, where the inaugural event was held in 1934.

Other past winners of the historic race include the late Jason Leffler; Tony Stewart; Bobby Santos III; Christopher Bell; Tanner Thorson; two-time winners A.J. Foyt, Parnelli Jones and the late Bryan Clauson; as well as three-time champion Boat.

The all-time winningest driver in Turkey Night history is the legendary Ron Shuman, who topped the event eight times (1979-1982, 1984, 1987, 1992-1993) in a 15-year span.

This year’s Turkey Night Grand Prix is set for Nov. 22-23 at Ventura Raceway.


About the Writer

Jacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 23-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at:

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.