SPRINT CARS: Premier Speedway Prepping for Grand Annual Classic; T-Mac Secures Seat

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, International, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

WARRNAMBOOL, Australia – official track release — Phil Jordison photo —

With less than a month until the 43rd Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool is gearing up for a serious shake down Thursday and Friday night as not one but two nights of stellar Speedway action are set to hit the famed Warrnambool high banks.

Along with the exciting double header on Jan. 1-2, it would appear that Terry McCarl’s Christmas wishes have been granted with the American Ace from Altoona, Iowa, having secured a ride ahead of this seasons hectic Classic week.

Confirmation of McCarl’s Australian teams intentions should be confirmed in the coming days, with T-Mac having announced via his own Twitter feed on Christmas Eve that he was excited to once again be able to contest the Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic, an event he has made the A-Main of six times from six attempts.

Jan. 1 of course will see Fresha Fruit Juice present round five of ENZED World Series Sprintcars, which also doubles as the Grand Final of the prestigious Speedweek Tournament. In 2014-15 this challenging five nights of racing in seven carries a pretty cool $10,000.00 bonus to the overall Speedweek Champion courtesy of the five host venues.

The World Series Sprintcars contracted teams will as always be tough to beat, with the likes of Australian Champion David Murcott, Brooke Tatnell and California’s Kyle Hirst all keen on claiming the round five Silverware.

Add to the excitement of the eight full time contracted teams, the likes of American Stars Danny Holtgraver and Trey Starks along with two time Classic Champion Steven Lines, James McFadden, the Red Hot Jamie Veal, Luke Dillon and Darren Mollenoyux and the near fifty car field will be full of class!

As always some Jan. 1 fireworks will be a part of the show courtesy of Tim Perrett and his team at Profire Pyrotechnics, as will the super fast Formula 500’s who will go into battle for round 3 of their Speedweek Series which will also consist of more than 40 entrants.

The Speedcar Pro Series is one of the Blue Chip Speedcar events in the country and will provide the competitors with the ideal shake down ahead of the 74th Lucas Australian Speedcar Championship, which will be held on Feb. 27-28 at Sungold Stadium.

Currently defending Champion Dayne Kingshott leads the point’s battle with 1532 from Todd Waddell on 1365 and Neville Lance with 1269 points.

Also looking to cap of the series with a feature race win will be the likes of News South Wales stand out Mark Brown, current Aussie Champ Adam Clarke and the super impressive Brett Thomas.

The likes of Domain Ramsay, Travis Mills, Paul Farrell and Andy Pearce will fly the flag for the non-contracted teams, with home track knowledge being a distinct advantage for this quartet.

On the Sprintcar side of things, already 49 teams have nominated for Round  Six of the Eureka Garages and Sheds Series, which also doubles as round four of the Parr Motorsports Premier Speedway Track Premiership.

Warrnambool’s very own Jamie Veal will return to Eureka Series action having won the most recent round of the series on Boxing Night at Avalon Raceway.

Veal currently sits third in series points with 1468 points trailing series leader Daniel Pestka (1611) and Brett Milburn (1474).

CREDIT: Premier Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.