AUDIO/QUALIFYING: Litt Breaks Six-Year Drought; Sets MSR Quick Time at Owosso

Jacob Seelman Audio, Featured, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

Ryan Litt (right) won the David D. Mateer Memorial Quick Time Award on Saturday at Owosso Speedway, pocketing $500 for his efforts. (Jacob Seelman photo)

Ryan Litt (right) won the David D. Mateer Memorial Quick Time Award on Saturday at Owosso Speedway, pocketing $500 for his efforts. (Jacob Seelman photo)

OVID, Mich. – Canadian Ryan Litt broke a six-year qualifying drought with the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series on Saturday evening, setting the fastest lap of the day and claiming the $500 David D. Mateer Memorial Fast Time Award at Owosso Speedway.

Litt was the 14th of 19 drivers to take time during the session, but his lap of 13.052 seconds (103.432 mph) held up against all challengers as the London, Ontario native collected his second career quick time and first since 2010 at Auto City Speedway.

“I screwed up in the shop … forgot some spacers in the brakes when I was putting the new motor in and that’s why it pinched the line and caused us problems in practice,” said Litt, driver of the No. 07 BS&B Radiators entry. “That put us behind, but we had a great rebound. This car was a rocket. I was just trying to be smooth; I’m surprised (the lap) was that fast.”

“For myself, I was a little tight in the center of the corner and a little bit loose on the first lap going in, but other than that this car was locked down. I’m just really happy for myself and for this team to put the run together like we did. Hopefully we can keep this strength going through the remainder of the night.”

The fast man in final practice, Ryan Gillenwater missed the pole time by .005 of a second, clocking in at 13.057 seconds (103.393 mph) at the controls of the No. 45 Fifth Street Auto Care/Akron Hardware machine.

Jason Blonde posted an identical time of 13.057 seconds, but his second timed lap was slower than that of Gillenwater’s, meaning he was credited with third in the qualifying rundown.

Chris Neuenschwander and Jerry Caryer rounded out the Fast Five ahead of defending series champion Jimmy McCune, who timed in sixth-fastest overall.

Because Litt rolled a six on the Engine Pro Inversion Die, McCune will start on the pole of tonight’s Must See Racing Fast 40 providing all drivers in the invert finish their respective heat races.

Former MSR supermodified champion Kyle Edwards, Jason Cox, former NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Bobby Santos III and Kris Leming were the balance of the top 10.

Heat races for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series will start at approximately 7:30 p.m.


Audio with Must See Racing fast qualifier Ryan Litt:


RESULTS: Must See Racing Sprint Car Series; American Racer/Engine Pro Time Trials; Owosso Speedway; Aug. 6, 2016

  1. #07L – Ryan Litt, 13.052
  2. #45 – Ryan Gillenwater, 13.057
  3. #42 – Jason Blonde, 13.057
  4. #10 – Chris Neuenschwander, 13.213
  5. #75C – Jerry Caryer, 13.260
  6. #88 – Jimmy McCune, 13.373
  7. #11 – Kyle Edwards, 13.472
  8. #4 – Jason Cox, 13.480
  9. #22A – Bobby Santos III, 13.551
  10. #9L – Kris Leming, 13.780
  11. #44 – Teddy Alberts, 13.844
  12. #10K – Kyle Henry, 14.075
  13. #25 – Doug Stepke, 14.223
  14. #1 – Chris Randolph, 14.426
  15. #72S – Joe Speakman, 14.670
  16. #11X – Kyle Moonen, 14.688
  17. #11G – Tom Geren, 15.057
  18. #5 – Don Dietsch, 15.234
  19. #13 – H.D. Carter, 17.814

* – Tiebreaker for second spot is the other timed lap; Gillenwater’s opposite lap was quicker than Blonde’s.

CREDIT: Must See Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.