ASCoC: Dewease Doubles Up With All Star Victory At Port Royal

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast, Other Sprint Cars 0 Comments

Lance Dewease celebrates his Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions win at Port Royal Speedway with event namesake Keith Kauffman. (Paul Arch photo)

PORT ROYAL, Pa. – For the second time in as many evenings, Lance Dewease defended his home turf from the invading Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions, scoring a victory at Port Royal Speedway during Saturday night’s Keith Kauffman Classic.

The victory was the 33rd Arctic Cat All Star win of Dewease’s career and his sixth at Port Royal.

Dewease’s win was conducted in near-record fashion, with the Don Kreitz-owned No. 69K crossing under the final checkers 6.748 seconds ahead of the field and lapping up to 11th place during the 10 minute, non-stop 30-lap event.

“These guys work so hard,” said Dewease. “That’s why we run such a limited schedule. That allows my guys enough time to look over everything and make sure we’re ready to go for the next race. The track was great tonight. Hats off to everyone here at Port Royal Speedway. It’s a dream to drive for this team.”

Dewease, who won Friday’s All Star event at Williams Grove Speedway, started from the pole position and wasted no time gaining the early advantage, crossing under the flagstand for the first time by a margin of 2.2 seconds ahead of Ryan Smith and Blane Heimbach.

Even with traffic coming into play by lap six, Dewease still managed to keep positive momentum, extending his lead to nearly four seconds at halfway.

Meanwhile, Dale Blaney charged forward from the outside of row three to third by lap 10, falling in line behind Smith and Dewease.

Despite two hiccups — making contact with the inside retaining wall as well as making contact with Doug Esh during an attempt to put Esh a lap down — Dewease drove on to score the $5,000 payday with no challenges, followed at the finish by Smith, Blaney, Dylan Cisney and Heimbach.

The victory was No. 101 for Dewease at Port Royal.

“Finishing second to these guys is like a win for us,” said runner-up Smith. “I can’t thank my team enough for what they do for me. Hopefully we can get a win soon and get the monkey off of our back.”

Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions owner and retired NASCAR Cup Series champion Tony Stewart finished 18th in Saturday’s feature.


RESULTS: Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions; Port Royal Speedway; April 29, 2017

Feature (30 laps): 1. 69K-Lance Dewease [1]; 2. 94-Ryan Smith [3]; 3. 1Z-Dale Blaney [6]; 4. 5-Dylan Cisney [5]; 5. 12-Blane Heimbach [2]; 6. 38-Steve Buckwalter [4]; 7. 10H-Chad Kemenah [10]; 8. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [9]; 9. 11-TJ Stutts [11]; 10. 55-Mike Wagner [8]; 11. 25-Aaron Ott [21]; 12. 49X-Tim Shaffer [12]; 13. O7-Doug Esh [18]; 14. 17-Caleb Helms [7]; 15. 27-Greg Hodnett [15]; 16. 20-Ryan Taylor [22]; 17. 7W-Logan Wagner [14]; 18. 14-Tony Stewart [17]; 19. 33M-Max Stambaugh [13]; 20. 7C-Caleb Armstrong [25]; 21. 47K-Kody Lehman [16]; 22. 98-Carl Bowser [24]; 23. 44-Joey Hershey [19]; 24. 33S-Curt Stroup [23]; 25. 8M-TJ Michael [27]; 26. 10-Tyler Bear [20]; 27. 98T-Joe Trenca [26].

Lap Leaders: Dewease 1-30.

CREDIT: All Star Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.