McCune Gets Back On Top In MSR Owosso Sprint

Jacob Seelman Featured, Must See Racing 0 Comments

Jimmy McCune celebrates in victory lane after winning Saturday night at Owosso (Mich.) Speedway. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

OWOSSO, Mich. — The back-and-forth battle for Must See Racing Sprint Car Series supremacy continued on Saturday night at Owosso Speedway, with Jimmy McCune coming out on top with a dominant performance for his fifth series win of the year.

McCune took the lead from Jeff Bloom on lap four and led the remaining distance in the David D. Mateer Memorial/Must See Fast 40, capturing the win by a staggering 6.459 seconds over Gerster at the checkered flag.

The final 35 laps of the feature ran uninterrupted, following a caution flag at lap five for a spinning Ike Beasley.

For McCune, Saturday’s win was a welcomed shot in the arm after being beaten handily by Gerster in Must See Racing’s ‘Western Swing’ double header a week prior.

“This was a badass race car and that was a badass performance tonight,” McCune said of his 21st-career series win. “This piece was a rocket from the time we unloaded; we had such a fast race car. Once I got out front I could pretty much do whatever I needed to with it. Traffic was still a challenge … the slower cars held their lines well, but around this place it’s always tough because it’s pretty tight. We made it happen again, though, and I’m proud of that.”

Saturday’s final result completed a sweep of the night for McCune, who set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 13.216 seconds and won his heat race before capturing the $2,500 winner’s share in the David D. Mateer Memorial.

The event paid tribute to the late past president of American Racer Tires, David D. Mateer.

Gerster chased McCune for the entire distance, but had to settle for second as McCune ducked further and further away into the Michigan night.

Bloom and Anthony McCune finished third and fourth, respectively, as the last two cars on the lead lap. Charlie Schultz completed the top five.

Beasley rallied from his early issues to post a sixth-place finish, ahead of Derek Snyder, Tom Jewell, Jerry Caryer and Bronzie Lawson IV.

The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series returns to action on Aug. 12 at Anderson Speedway.


RESULTS: Must See Racing Sprint Car Series; Owosso Speedway; Aug. 5, 2017

1-800 RADIATOR A-Feature (40 laps): 1. Jimmy McCune, 2. Brian Gerster, 3. Jeff Bloom, 4. Anthony McCune, 5. Charlie Schultz, 6. Ike Beasley, 7. Derek Snyder, 8. Tom Jewell, 9. Jerry Caryer, 10. Bronzie Lawson IV, 11. Joe Speakman, 12. Adam Biltz, 13. Joey Irwin, 14. Chris Randolph, 15. Kevin Feeney, 16. H.D. Carter.

Abe’s Auto Parts Time Trials: 1. Jimmy McCune, 13.216; 2. Brian Gerster, 13.286; 3. Charlie Schultz, 13.468; 4. Ike Beasley, 13.618; 5. Jeff Bloom, 13.631; 6. Anthony McCune, 13.636; 7. Derek Snyder, 13.835; 8. Jerry Caryer, 13.931; 9. Tom Jewell, 14.092; 10. Kevin Feeney, 14.250; 11. Chris Randolph, 14.355; 12. Joe Speakman, 14.442; 13. Bronzie Lawson IV, 14.575; 14. Adam Biltz, 14.654; 15. Joey Irwin, 15.428; 16. H.D. Carter, 19.783.

Abe’s Auto Parts First Heat (10 laps): 1. Bronzie Lawson IV, 2. Adam Biltz, 3. Joe Speakman, 4. Chris Randolph, 5. Joey Irwin, 6. H.D. Carter.

B&B Machinery Movers Second Heat (10 laps): 1. Anthony McCune, 2. Tom Jewell, 3. Derek Snyder, 4. Kevin Feeney, 5. Jerry Caryer.

RAM Engineering Midwest Third Heat (10 laps): 1. Jimmy McCune, 2. Brian Gerster, 3. Charlie Schultz, 4. Ike Beasley, 5. Jeff Bloom.

CREDIT: Must See Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.