SOUTHEAST: Front Row Challenge Ups The Ante For Speed51 Open

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Mini Outlaws, Racing Nation, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

The field lines up four-wide prior to the start of the 2016 Speed51 Open at Millbridge Speedway. (Kara Campbell photo)

SALISBURY, N.C. – Jeremy and Ashly Burnett, owners of Millbridge Speedway, announced Friday that this year’s Speed51 Open at the sixth-mile oval will carry a $25,000 Front Row Challenge bonus as part of the crown jewel outlaw kart spectacular.

The purse still guarantees a $5,151 check to the winner, but there is a chance one driver could win an additional $25,000 as part of the Front Row Challenge.

The Front Row Challenge will allow one driver the option of starting at the rear of the field, in order to race for a chance at an additional $25,000. If that driver is able to win the 51-lap race, then he or she would pocket a total winner’s share of $30,151.

“We like to do things big at Millbridge and we had to top last year’s Speed51 Open,” said Ashly Burnett. “We hope this draws a lot of attention and buzz on who will take the challenge and will someone be able to come from last to win. It will definitely be something for all our fans to watch throughout the race.”

The Speed51 Open is a two-day event set for May 23-24. Millbridge Speedway is located just up the road from the NASCAR events held during the ’10 Days of NASCAR Thunder’ at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The Speed51 Open will be a 51-lap Outlaw Kart Open division main event. $500 will go to the winner of the Intermediate class, now on the Wednesday night card, as well as the winner of the non-qualifier race.

“Last years Speed51 Open was great; even qualifying night was exciting to watch,” added Jeremy Burnett. “We are really pumped up for this years even as we believe we will draw a record number of cars and fans. I think the ‘Front Row Challenge’ will get people amped up to see another epic event at Millbridge.”

Big names from the short track racing world and beyond are expected to enter the event and take their shot at earning bragging rights in the biggest Outlaw Karts race of the year.

Millbridge Speedway’s extra-distance event during the month of May has been won by the likes of Mike Wheeler (2014), Logan Seavey (2015) and Kyle Larson (2016) in re-cent years.

CREDIT: 51 Sports for Millbridge Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *