USAC West: Mitchell Survives Carnage for Curfew-Shortened Peter Murphy Classic Win

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, USAC, West 0 Comments

TULARE, Calif. — official series release —

Matt Mitchell of Yorba Linda, Calif. won Saturday night’s shortened 23-lap Peter Murphy Classic for the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series at Thunderbowl Raceway in his Campbell Brothers Storage/Pit Boss Jacks Maxim/Priestley.

Mitchell passed Ryan Bernal on lap 16 and led the rest of the way to beat Richard Vander Weerd, Danny Faria Jr., Austin Liggett and Bud Kaeding.

Eight flips slowed the night’s racing process and eventually led to a curfew issue, forcing a checkered flag at lap 23.

Troy Rutherford was the fast qualifier for the 29-car field.


RESULTS: USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series; Thunderbowl Raceway; Peter Murphy Classic; July 25, 2015

FEATURE: (23 laps – Halted by curfew): 1. Matt Mitchell, 2. Richard Vander Weerd, 3. Danny Faria Jr., 4. Austin Liggett, 5. Bud Kaeding, 6. Trey Marcham, 7. Michael Faccinto, 8. Jace Vander Weerd, 9. Brody Roa, 10. Mike Spencer, 11. Kyle Smith, 12. Shon Deskins, 13. Tristan Guardino, 14. Tye Mihocko, 15. Ronnie Gardner, 16. Shannon McQueen, 17. Ryan Bernal, 18. Jake Swanson, 19. Cody Majors, 20. Dwayne Marcum, 21. Troy Rutherford 22. D.J. Johnson. NT


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.