INDYCAR: Chevrolet Claims Third Straight Manufacturers Title

RaceChaser Staff Sprints & Midgets, Verizon IndyCar Series, West 0 Comments

SONOMA, Calif. — official release — Shawn Gritzmacher photo — Chevrolet has secured the Verizon IndyCar Series Manufacturer Championship for the third successive year since rejoining engine manufacturer competition.

Chevy Racing principals will be presented the championship trophy during the Aug. 31INDYCAR Championship Celebration at Club Nokia in Los Angeles.

Chevrolet, with 10 entries using its 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V6 engine, has won 10 races this season. Honda entries have won six races, with the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma on Aug. 24 and the MAVTV 500 on Aug, 30 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., left on the schedule.

“If you peel back the competition, there are two manufacturers with excellent teams that are working hard to outsmart and beat the other,” INDYCAR president of competition and operations Derrick Walker said. “It’s one of the most competitive championships in motorsports with two seriously-competitive and equally-matched companies. It is one of our crown jewels of competition within the competition.”

The Chevrolet IndyCar V6 team and driver roster that has contributed to the title includes Team Penske (Helio Castroneves, Will Power and Juan Pablo Montoya), Chip Ganassi Racing (Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Ryan Briscoe and Charlie Kimball), KVSH Racing (Sebastien Bourdais), KV AFS Racing (Sabastian Saavedra) and Ed Carpenter Racing (Ed Carpenter and Mike Conway).

Power, the Verizon IndyCar Series championship points leader, has won three races, including the most recent Aug, 17 at the Milwaukee Mile.

“It is with great pride that we salute the teams, drivers and technical partners for their hard work and dedication that has resulted in another championship for our 2.2 liter twin-turbocharged, direct-injected engine,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. vice president of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “Success like this doesn’t happen without so many people working together to contribute to maximizing the combination of power, fuel economy and reliability delivered by the Chevrolet IndyCar V6 engine.”

INDYCAR revised the Manufacturer Championship format for 2014 to reward durability and performance in addition to penalizing competitors when warranted. The format mirrors points awarded to the top five drivers and entrants in each race when running one of the four assigned engines allotted for the season.

Manufacturers receive a 10-point award for each of their four engines that reach the 2,500-mile change-out threshold. Ten points are deducted for engines that are changed out before reaching the mileage limit.

Since 2012, Chevrolet entries have earned 31 victories, an Indianapolis 500 Mile Race win and the 2012 Verizon IndyCar Series driver and entrant championships. Chevrolet previously competed in Indy car racing as a manufacturer of V8 engines from 1986-93 and 2002-05, powering seven Indianapolis 500 wins and six driver championships.

The Chevrolet brand’s association with Indy car racing and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway dates to brothers Louis, Arthur and Gaston Chevrolet driving in the Indianapolis 500. With the machines they designed, Gaston won as a driver in 1920 and Louis was the winning owner in 1921.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.