SOUTHEAST: Sebring Names Turn Three to Honor Six-Time 12 Hours Winner Tom Kristensen

RaceChaser Staff Road Racing, Southeast, WeatherTech 0 Comments

SEBRING, Fla. – official track release — SIR photo —

Sebring Int’l Raceway has officially named turn three of the 3.74-mile circuit in honor of all-time winner Tom Kristensen.

The announcement of “Kristensen Corner” was made Monday by IMSA President and COO Scott Atherton at the Sebring Hall of Fame luncheon. Kristensen was among six inductees into the Hall of Fame class of 2016, and becomes the first driver in over 20 years to have a turn named after him.

Kristensen won Sebring a record six times overall and recorded the fastest race lap four times. He has nine overall podium finishes during the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

The Sebring circuit includes turns in honor of sports car racing pioneers Briggs Cunningham and Sam Collier, Dan Gurney, Olivier Gendebien, IMSA Founder John Bishop and Sebring race founder Alec Ulmann.

CREDIT: Sebring International Raceway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.