SOUTHEAST: Five Inductees Chosen for 2014 Class of Georgia Racing Hall of Fame

RaceChaser Staff Southeast 0 Comments

JEFFERSON, Ga. – official release — The class of 2014 inductees to the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame boasts one of the most successful dirt track campaigners in the state’s history, a historic driver turned car builder, a veteran wheelman who ruled the short tracks and competed in NASCAR, a legendary Super Modified driver and a legendary pioneer drag racer.

With fans packing the grandstands, the five new inductees into the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame were announced Saturday night on the front stretch of the historic, high banked half-mile Gresham Motorsports Park in Jefferson, Ga., as the speedway hosted Georgia Racing Hall of Fame night as part of a big night of racing at the famed speedplant.

The five new inductees include multi-time dirt track winner and champion Leon Archer of Griffin, Ga., race driving winner turned champion car builder Roscoe Smith of Griffin, Ga., short track ace and former NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Jack Pennington of Winston, Ga., supermodified race and championship winner Charlie Burkhalter of Athens, Ga., and pioneer drag racer and NASCAR car owner Julius Hughes of Atlanta, Ga.

The 2014 Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Induction banquet will be held on Saturday, Dec. 13, 2014 at 2 p.m. at the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame, located inside the Dawsonville Municipal Complex in Dawsonville, Ga.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.