NXS: TriStar to the Top; David Starr Paces Second XFINITY Practice at Daytona

Marshall Gabell NASCAR, Southeast 0 Comments

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Report by Race Chaser Online Mid-Atlantic Correspondent Marshall Gabell — Sean Gardner/Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

The ‘Starrs’ have aligned.

In a TriStar Motorsports entry, David Starr paced the second Friday practice for the Powershares QQQ 300, the opening race for the NASCAR XFINITY Series at Daytona International Speedway.

Starr, making his eighth Daytona start in XFINITY competition tomorrow, threw in a lap of 183.516 mph (49.042 seconds) to lead the session in his No. 44 Zachry Toyota.

Rookie Brandon Jones was second in the practice (183.109 mph). He will be making his debut on the Daytona highbanks tomorrow, driving Richard Childress Racing’s No. 33 Barrett Jackson/Menards Chevrolet.

“Front Row Joe” (Nemechek, his long-time moniker) was third fastest in the session and NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion and modified ace Ryan Preece, in JD Motorsports No. 01 Chevrolet was fourth quickest.

Benny Gordon rounded out the top five, with Daniel Suarez, Ty Dillon (who led first practice this morning), Bobby Labonte, Erik Jones and Ryan Reed closing the top-10 positions.

XFINITY Series final practice — the last on-track activity for them on Friday — is slated for 3:00 p.m. Eastern.


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series Second Practice; Daytona International Speedway; Feb. 19, 2016

  1. David Starr
  2. Brandon Jones
  3. Joe Nemechek
  4. Ryan Preece
  5. Benny Gordon
  6. Daniel Suarez
  7. Ty Dillon
  8. Bobby Labonte
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Ryan Reed
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Blake Koch
  13. Kasey Kahne
  14. John Wes Townley
  15. Elliott Sadler
  16. Brennan Poole
  17. Dakoda Armstrong
  18. Anthony Kumpen
  19. Joey Logan
  20. Chase Elliott
  21. Justin Allgaier
  22. Mario Gosselin
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Kyle Larson
  25. Ryan Sieg
  26. Jeb Burton
  27. Ross Chastain
  28. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  29. Matt Tifft
  30. Bobby Gerhart
  31. Chris Cockrum
  32. Martin Roy
  33. Jeff Green
  34. Eric McClure
  35. Mark Thompson
  36. Scott Lagasee Jr.
  37. Ray Black Jr.
  38. Mike Harmon
  39. Derrike Cope
  40. Jeremy Clements
  41. Derek White
  42. Chris Fontaine
  43. BJ McCleod
  44. Harrison Rhodes
  45. Stanton Barrett
  46. Joey Gase


About the Writer

Marshall Gabell is the Mid-Atlantic Correspondent for Race Chaser Online, and was also formerly the public relations director for NASCAR Next member Austin Hill. Gabell is currently attending Stephen Decatur High School in Ocean City, Md., completing his sophomore year. He is just 15 years old.

Email Marshall at: [email protected]

Follow on Twitter: @MarshallGabell

Email Race Chaser Online: [email protected]

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *