LOLMDS: Moyer Wins Monday Make-Up at East Bay Winternationals

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Other Dirt Late Models, Southeast 0 Comments

GIBSONTON, Fla. – official series release — Rick Schwallie/LOLMDS photo —

Billy Moyer took the lead at the start of Friday’s’s 25-lap Winternationals Monday make-up feature at East Bay Raceway Park and never looked back as he cruised to his second victory in as many nights.

Brandon Sheppard closed the gap in the second half of the race and challenged Moyer on several occasions, but he could never quite pull even with the veteran from Batesville, Ark.

The victory was Moyer’s 25th career Winternationals triumph.

Following Moyer and Sheppard to the finish were Billy Moyer Jr., Gregg Satterlee and Devin Moran.

“We just missed the set-up in that first race tonight,” Moyer said. “We had just enough time to make some adjustments for this race. We won that first heat so that put us on the pole. The car was really good. I had a little bit of a push getting into turn two, but otherwise, the car was not a handful like the previous nights. I was hoping maybe Jr. could get up there so we could take first and second.”

Sheppard continued his strong Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Georgia-Florida Speedweeks with his runner-up finish.

“Ever since we unloaded last Thursday at Golden Isles this car has been strong,” Sheppard said. “If not for some bad luck we could have had a win or two. To finish second to Billy Moyer tonight is awesome. He is one of the best ever.”

Moyer Jr. came home third, his best finish of the Georgia-Florida Speedweeks.

“I really wanted that second spot tonight. I raced Brandon hard and I have a lot of respect for him and his family. We can build on this and get ready for the Saturday night finale,” Moyer Jr. said.

Rounding out the top ten were Stormy Scott, Jonathan Davenport, Jared Landers, Tim Dohm, and Mason Zeigler.

In preliminary action, Dennis Erb Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 33 entrants, with a lap of 15.983 seconds. Sheppard set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.984 seconds. Moyer, Moyer Jr., Sheppard and Satterlee won their respective heat races. Davey Johnson won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.