USAC: Sprint, Midget and Silver Crown National Rookies of the Year Announced

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Northeast, Other Midgets, Other Sprint Cars, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets, USAC, West 0 Comments

INDIANAPOLIS – official release — John Potter photo —

Caleb Armstrong, Jarett Andretti and Kevin Thomas Jr. have been selected to receive USAC National Rookie of the Year honors Dec. 12 at the 59th USAC Night of Champions celebration in Indianapolis, Ind.

Shane Cockrum will also be honored as the 2014 USAC Most Improved Driver.

The affair is again being held at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in downtown Indianapolis and distinctive awards will be presented to each driver during the evening’s program.

Armstrong, of New Castle, Ind., finished ninth in the 2014 USAC Silver Crown Series presented by TRAXXAS. His season produced an outstanding drive at the 4-Crown Nationals at Ohio’s Eldora Speedway and a fourth-place finish at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Ill.

Andretti, son of Indianapolis 500 and NASCAR veteran John Andretti, ranked 14th in the final AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series standings and started 24 feature events, capped by a ninth-place finish at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind. In 2011 Andretti captured USAC’s Eastern Ford Focus Dirt championship.

Thomas, of Cullman, Ala., took 13th in the final Honda USAC National Midget standings and grabbed four top-10 finishes in his 10 starts. A front-runner in USAC’s competitive National Sprint Car series, he claimed the 2013 USAC Most Improved Driver award after recording seven feature wins.

Cockrum, of Benton, Ill., scored an extremely popular victory in the “Ted Horn 100″ Silver Crown race at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds and was a steady competitor in the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car series. He also added a fifth-place finish in the “4-Crown Nationals” Midget race in September.

Western USAC Rookies who will be celebrated at their awards ceremonies Feb. 7 in Paso Robles, Calif. are: Logan Williams (CRA Sprint), Jarid Blondel (Honda Western Midget), Trent Carter and Garrett Long (West Coast Sprint), Western Classic Sprint (Trevor Schmid) and Joel Rayborne (Western HPD Midget).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.