Thursday Night Racing Returns To Thompson Speedway

Tom Baker Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

THOMPSON, CT. After a two week absence, Thursday night racing returns to the Thompson Speedway this week. The break in the racing action was the result of a rain out on June 27th and the New England Summer Nationals occupying the speedway grounds on the 4th of July.

When racing resumes on July 11th, it will be Whelen Engineering night and Thompson’s five NASCAR Whelen All- American Series divisions will be in competition.

As an added attraction, the Xtra Mart Limited Sportsman teams will compete in their longest race of the year. A 30-lap main event is on tap for this exciting division and the competition is bound to be fierce for the win and the bragging rights that go along with winning this prestigious race.

Current points leader Larry Barnett will head the field and will be the driver to beat. He has captured three wins already this year and has moved to 4th on the all-time win list at Thompson with an amazing total of 55 career victories. It will not be easy for Barnett as he will face stiff competition from drivers like Scott Sundeen, Steve Kenneway, Jason Chicolas and Bill McNeil.

The Sunoco Modifieds will be in competition with Ryan Preece being the man to beat. Preece has become the most successful driver in the northeast with three consecutive wins on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and a host of wins at Thompson and other tracks in their weekly Modified divisions.

Preece, however, sits fourth in the 2013 Thompson points chase. Topping that list is 2010 champion Kerry Malone. Malone has had an exceptional 2013 season and visited victory lane on June 20th. Malone is followed in the points standings by Woody Pitkat, Keith Rocco, Preece and Dennis Perry.

Late Model racing has been extremely competitive with the edge going to Rick Gentes. He started the season with a career high of 68 wins which is second on the all-time win list. (Ted Christopher tops that list with 98 victories to date).

However, Gentes has added three wins since the start of the season and is setting his sights on celebrating his 75th victory. Gentes will face stiff competition from other drivers in the top five in points. They include Glenn Boss, Marc Curtis, JR., John Lowinski-Loh, JR. and Damon Tinio.

The Lite Modifieds will also return to action on July 11th. This growing and competitive division has seen last year’s champ, Cam McDermott, as one tough customer to beat. McDermott has also won three races this year. John Studley, another 2013 winner, is currently second in the points standings and is closely followed by Dylan Menditto, Glenn Griswold and Danny Gamache, Jr.

Thompson’s Monster Mini Stock division has very tight competition both on the track and in the points race. Veteran Louie Bellisle is in a points tie with Dave Trudeau for the top spot going into the next event with Eric Bourgeois, Joe Baxter and Mike Viens rounding out the top five. Like each race held thus far this season, the Monster Mini Stocks are expected to put on a great race when they return on the 11th.

Because of the interference of Mother Nature, adjustments have been made in the track’s schedule and bonus money program. Fans and competitors can check on schedule changes by visiting the brand new Thompson Web page.

Click on NASCAR Racing at the top of the page or go directly to the page at Updates will also be found on both Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.