“The X-Man” Chad Phelps Takes Narrow Brewerton Speedway Modified Win Over Jimmy Phelps

RaceChaser Staff Northeast 0 Comments

BREWERTON, NY – MAY 31, 2013 (By Dave Medler) – Once again the Brewerton Speedway put on a barnburner of a Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature Friday night. Chad Phelps took advantage of a great starting position, but the win was anything but easy. Phelps had to hold off early race challenges from Ryan Bartlett, then late race pressure from first Ryan Phelps, and then Jimmy Phelpsfor the 35 lap win. For Phelps it was his second career win at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon.”

Other winners on Nationwide Insurance night were, Chris Fleming, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds Den Hubbs Memorial, Jeff Isabell Jr., Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Chuck Powelczyk, Four Cylinder Stocks.

Chad Phelps and Ryan Bartlett brought down the 800 horse power Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds to starter Dave Farney’s green flag with Phelps snagging the narrow, early lead in the 35 lap feature.

With 5 laps complete, Phelps and Bartlett ran nose to tail with Matt Hulsizer right there with the top-two, Dan Vauter and Chris Hile ran fourth and fifth.

A yellow would fly on lap 9 when Robbie Bellinger got out of shape collecting Willy Decker, both would continue. On the same lap Billy Decker would shoot to the pits and return to the rear of the field. One lap later, another yellow would come out from a jingle in turn four involving, Chuck Bower, Dale Planck and Tim Sears Jr.. Only Sears wouldn’t return to the action. On the same caution, point leader Matt Sheppard would go to the pits for a quick front shock change and return without losing a lap.

When the green came back out, Phelps and Bartlett would swap the lead till lap 14, when Phelps took back the top-spot using the top of the speedway. At that point of the race Ryan Phelps appeared to be the fastest car on the track as he joined the top-two in a three-car breakaway at the front.

At the halfway point, Chad Phelps, Bartlett and Ryan Phelpsused every inch of the speedway looking for any advantage as the laps clicked off. While everyone was watching the battle up front, Jimmy Phelps was rapidly catching the top-three.

With 20 laps complete showing on the scoring tower, Chad Phelps opened a few car length advantage over Ryan Phelps who had moved into second. Bartlett, Jimmy Phelps and Vauter showed third through fifth.

When the lap counter showed 10 laps to go, Chad Phelps, Ryan Phelps and Jimmy Phelps lined up for that final push to the checkers. Bartlett and Vauter were still in the mix running fourth and fifth.

Over the remaining laps, first, Ryan Phelps threw everything he had at Chad Phelps to find a way by to no avail. Then Jimmy Phelps moved into second and tried every trick in the book, but Chad Phelps didn’t flinchas he was the first under the checkers by a narrow margin over Phelps. Ryan Phelps, Matt Hulsizer and Larry Wight finished third through fifth.

After putting his Haun Welding Supply/Midstate Tree Service/ Ashley Lynn Winery/ Troyer/No.X in victory lane, Chad Phelps talked about the victory.

“I can’t get a better starting spot than what I had (front row) you still have to be up on it. The car was going away at the end, I was fighting it pretty much from the start. Those restarts were like, man we got to get this going,” Phelps said with a chuckle. “I didn’t know whether to take the top or the bottom, once we got going it was alright.”

“We’re still working the bugs out of this thing,” (A new Troyer) I think we can be a little bit better anyway. We got the monkey off our back,” now with a win at Brewerton and Fulton this season. “Hopefully that’s behind us.”

After a ceremonyhonoring Dean Hubbs trackside with his family and the missing man formation on the pace laps, the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds got after it in a 20 lap feature. Jason Amidon led most of the race as he looked to grab his first ever IMCA win after knocking on the door so many times. On lap 13 in a three-wide move on the bottom of the speedway with Amidon and Chris Fleming, Kevan Cook was able to wrestle the lead away. A yellow on lap 18 would setup a shootout between Cook and Fleming. On the white flag lap, Cook and Fleming would cross the line side by side. Going in to turns three and four coming down for the checkers, Fleming was able to find bite on the top to pick up the narrow victory over Cook. Jason Amidon, Rob Keller and Dane Keller Jr. finished third through fifth.

In the wild, 20 lap Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lite feature saw a couple of incidents that took out some of the top-runners for the night. When the race got going to a race pace it was Jeff Isabell Jr. who picked up the win over teammates Rick Demo and Alan Fink. Defending track champion Mike Mullen and Gary Jeffries rounded out the top-five.

Chuck Powelczyk kept rolling along in the Four Cylinder Super Stocks as he picked up another win, his 60th overall at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon.” Brian Evenden, Kyle Young, Jessica Herbert-Redhead and Jack Taskey chased Powelczyk across the line.

This coming Friday, June 7th, please make note that the 600 Mini-Sprints that were on the schedule will not be running. A new club that was suppose to materialize never came together for the 2013 season. On the race card presented by NAPA and Ingles Performance will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 yrs old and younger admitted FREE.

Any questions you might have about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or cory@brewertonspeedway.com . Keep up with track updates throughout the season at www.brewertonspeedway.com and www.fultonspeedway.com, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at twitter.com/Fultonspeedway and twitter.com/BrewertonSpdway

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – CHAD PHELPS, Jimmy Phelps, Ryan Phelps, Matt Hulsizer, Larry Wight, Ryan Bartlett, Matt Sheppard, Pat Ward, Dan Vauter, Chris Hile, Jim Witko, Robbie Bellinger, Willy Decker, Dale Planck, Roy Bresnahan, Chuck Bower, Billy Decker, Tim Sears Jr..

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS DEAN HUBBS MEMORIAL20 LAPS) – CHRIS FLEMING, Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon, Rob Keller, Dane Keller Jr., Jim Walsh, Johnny Bell, John West, Mike Jones, Andy Kieffer, Dale Caswell, David Piscitelli.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JEFF ISABELL JR., Rick Demo, Alan Fink, Mike Mullen, Gary Jeffries, Sterling Miller, Matt Magner, Doug Williams, Joe Garafolo, Terry Lapham, Jeff Blackburn, Dave Brown, Lane Bush, Ryan Blackburn, Derek Register, Jeremy Isabell, Jeff Isabell, Jim Bogett, Josh DeSantis, Nick Graziano, Sam Usborne, Lowell Zehr, Justin Williams, Joe Isabell.

(FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Brian Evenden, Kyle Young,Jessica Herbert-Redhead, Jack Taskey, Dan Dupra, Jeff Herbert, William Carista, Sam Carista, Eric Gates, Stephanie Seeley, Richard Leahey, William Root, Lorraine Powelczyk, Ray Herzog, Austin Pullen, Stephen Denton, Peter VanBuskirk, Aron Backus, Kevin Dupra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.