SDS: Worth the Wait; Decker Claims Fifth Super DIRTcar Win of Season at Brewerton

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Super DIRTcar Series 0 Comments

BREWERTON, N.Y. — official series release — John Clifford photo —

Billy Decker started on the pole and won the twice rained-out McDonald’s 100 at Brewerton Speedway Thursday, but it wasn’t all that easy.

Decker swapped the lead three times with Brett Hearn before taking the lead for keeps on lap 76 with a hammer down move in the fourth turn that brought him close to the retaining wall. He withstood three late restarts and a green-white-checkered finish to record his fifth series win of the season.

“The “Franklin Flyer” led the first 62 laps — often while negotiating lapped traffic with Hearn hot on his trail. Hearn started eighth, but he was pressing Decker and Whittaker for the lead by lap 12.

Hearn first passed Decker on lap 63 and the back and forth began while Larry Wight and Danny Johnson were dicing and advancing themselves just ahead of another dogfight between Matt Sheppard and Vic Coffey.

Johnson survived contact down the front chute with Wight on lap 89 and went on to finish third. Wight lost a wheel and brought out the fifth of six yellows.

The final caution, for Rob Bellinger, created the green-white-checkered finish. Sheppard edged Coffey for fourth.

“I sent it in there pretty good,” Decker said of his fourth-turn move. “I hit that certain spot where it stuck. If you’re losing ground, you better try something. Thanks to Brewerton for bringing the Series back here.”

Hearn took his near miss in stride.

“Billy was a little tight for a while, but he got better at the end,” the all-time Super DIRTcar Series wins leader and champion said. “It’s great racing with him.”

Johnson sparred with many on the way to his podium finish, including White, Coffey, Sheppard and Whittaker.

The Super DIRTcar Series returns to action Friday at Weedsport Speedway for time trials and a 35-lap feature leading into Saturday’s $20,000-to-win All Ways 150.


RESULTS: Super DIRTcar Series; McDonald’s 100; Brewerton Speedway; October 22, 2015

  1. Billy Decker
  2. Brett Hearn
  3. Danny Johnson
  4. Matt Sheppard
  5. Vic Coffey
  6. Billy Whittaker
  7. Justin Haers
  8. Pat Ward
  9. Ryan Phelps
  10. Mat Williamson
  11. Gary Tomkins
  12. Chad Phelps
  13. Jimmy Phelps
  14. Matt Hulsizer
  15. Roy Bresnahan
  16. Chuck Bower
  17. Tim Fuller
  18. Rich Scagliotta
  19. Tim Kerr
  20. Rob Bellinger
  21. Larry Wight
  22. Pete Britten
  23. Justin Wright
  24. Keith Flach
  25. Dave Rauscher
  26. Tim Schneider
  27. Vinnie Vitale
  28. Carey Terrance

CREDIT: Super DIRTcar Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *