Ryan Phelps makes late race pass for first Modified win of the year at Brewerton Speedway

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

BREWERTON, NY – AUGUST 2, 2013 (By Dave Medler)- All season long at the Brewerton Speedway, Ryan Phelps has had strong runs that put him in the top-five in points, but victory lane alluded him. Friday night all that changed for the Newark, NY driver. Late in the race, Phelps was able erase a large lead Ryan Bartlett built-up and then making the winning pass on lap 29 of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature. For Phelps, it was his first win of the year at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon.”

Other winners on Maple View Garage Night were, Chris Fleming, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Sterling Miller and Joe Isabell, Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites. Rain fell over the speedway when the Four Cylinder Super Stock feature was on the track, postponing their feature to this coming Friday, August 9th.

Larry Wight blasted out to the initial lead for the 35 lap Modified feature before a caution came out after the field stacked up at about mid-pack. Billy Decker had to make a quick trip to the pits and then returning to the back of the field. When the green came back out Ryan Bartlett shot to the lead bringing Jim Witko with him.

With 10 laps showing on the scoring tower, Bartlett running the bottom, opened up an almost half a straightaway lead, while Witko, Ryan Phelps, Wight and Pat Ward chased the leader.

On lap 15, Bartlett was on rails out front bolting out to a full straightaway lead. Witko and Phelps were in a battle for second, while Ward, Wight, Jimmy Phelps and Matt Sheppard were in a tight pack fighting for position.

By lap 20, Bartlett was trying to put lapped cars between himself and Ryan Phelps, who looked to be getting quicker as the laps clicked off. Behind the top-two Witko, Ward and Sheppard were putting on a show of their own in the top-five.

With 10 laps to go, Bartlett still led, but Phelps now cut his lead down to about ten car lengths, setting up a dash to the finish. By lap 28 running the top, Phelps was now all over Bartlett. One lap later exiting turn four, Phelps shot into the lead to be scored the new leader on lap 29. Once out front, Phelps was able to outrun Pat Ward to the checkers. Ryan Bartlett, Matt Sheppard and Jimmy Phelps rounded out the top-five.

“It’s our first win of the year here, now we have won at all three tracks (Brewerton, Fulton, Utica-Rome) Ryan Phelps said after putting his NAPA Auto Parts/Kinsella Quarries/Tracey Road Equipment/No.99 in victory lane.

“We get this stigma, people say I can only run good and win when the track is really slick. It’s pretty cool to win tonight when the track was pretty heavy.”

Phelps talked about being able to cut down Ryan Bartlett’s big lead and making the winning pass on lap 29. “Early on we were really good on the bottom and not so good. When I had to move around a couple lapped cars, I realized I had something up top. I was catching Ryan (Bartlett) pretty quick up there. What was good about it was, he was on the bottom, so it gave me a lane to get around him. It got a little hairy with the lapped cars, with a couple to go the top kind of fell off. I had to squeeze off a little to keep my speed going,” to the checkers.

In the 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature, Rob Keller would lead the opening six laps when a caution would slow the field. On the restart Keller and JJ Courcy would get together setting up a chain reaction accident that involved eight cars and saw Keller rollover. When that was cleaned up, Chris Fleming who had mechanical problems in his heat found himself at the front of the pack. When the green came back out, Fleming was the class of the field as he was the first under the checkers. Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon who were both involved in the lap 6 incident finished second and third. I-88 Speedway invader Tyler Stoddard and Jim Walsh came home fourth and fifth.

The Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites ran a pair of 20 lap features. In the postponed feature from July 19th, Josh DeSantis took the lead from Nick Graziano on lap 9 having his best run of the season. On lap 10, everything changed for DeSantis. Going into turn one, he had his right rear dig in the clay sending him into a series of flips ending his shot at the win. DeSantis would be okay. Sterling Miller would inherit the lead and from there would outrun Joe Isabell to the checkers. Mike Mullen, Doug Williams and early leader Nick Graziano would finish third through fifth.

In the second 20 lap feature, Joe Isabell would take the lead from Nick Graziano on lap 5. Once out front Isabell was the class of the field in his Bloomquist chassis grabbing the win. Jeff Isabell Jr. Tim Devendorf, Doug Williams and Sterling Miller rounded out the top-five.

Industrial Tire Of CNY stepped up in a big way giving each Mod Lite feature winner a $500 bonus for their victories.

In the early laps of the 15 lap Four Cylinder Super Stock feature, the skies opened up with heavy rain postponing the rest of their feature to this Friday night August 9th.

The Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club made their second appearance of the season. Ray Preston and Ally Amell grabbed wins in their divisions.

The entire Brewerton Speedway staff would like to thank all the fans and competitors who waited out a rain delay starting the nights racing.

This coming Friday, August 9th night will be a big night at the Brewerton Speedway with the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds running double features and the 600 Micro-Sprints running a $700 to win show. Also on the race card on K-ROCK night will be the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Four Cylinder Super Stocks will finish their August 2nd feature plus their regular scheduled 15 lap main . The Home Depot Kids Club will be on hand with fun activities for all of our Jr. Fans. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have about the season, please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or cory@brewertonspeedway.com . Keep up with track updates throughout the season at www.brewertonspeedway.com and www.fultonspeedway.com, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at twitter.com/Fultonspeedway and twitter.com/BrewertonSpdway .

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – RYAN PHELPS, Pat Ward, Ryan Bartlett, Matt Sheppard, Jimmy Phelps, Jim Witko, Larry Wight, Willy Decker, Dan Vauter, Tim Sears Jr., Chuck Bower, Billy Decker, Dale Planck, Matt Hulsizer, Robbie Bellinger, Chad Phelps, Chris Hile, Joe August Jr., Chad Ray, Tom Keyes, Katelyn Kane.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – CHRIS FLEMING, Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon, Tyler Stoddard, Jim Walsh, Mike Stoddard, John West, Dane Keller Jr., Andy Kieffer, Boyce Murtaugh, David Piscitelli, Rob Keller Jr., JJ Courcy, Dale Caswell, Rich Keller, Matt Roberts, Michael Jeffries.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL MOD LITES JULY 19 FEATURE 20 LAPS) – STERLING MILLER, Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Doug Williams, Nick Graziano, Sam Usborne, Lowell Zehr, Jeremy Isabell, Gary Jeffries, Justin Williams, Jeff Blackburn, Zach Babcock, Terry Lapham, Rick Demo, Lane Bush, Lorrie Herbert, Ryan Blackburn, Alan Fink, Josh DeSantis, Kelly Skinner, Jeff Isabell Jr., Matt Magner. ($500 Winner Bonus from Industrial Tire Of CNY)

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL MOD LITES AUGUST 2 FEATURE 20 LAPS) – JOE ISABELL, Jeff Isabell Jr., Tim Devendorf, Doug Williams, Sterling Miller, Matt Magner, Alan Fink, Mike Mullen, Lowell Zehr, Sam Usborne, Terry Lapham, Nick Graziano, Justin Williams, Joe Garafolo, Gary Jeffries, Ryan Blackburn, Josh DeSantis, Lane Bush, Zach Babcock, Rick Demo, Lorrie Herbert, Jeff Blackburn. ($500 Winner Bonus from Industrial Tire Of CNY)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.