Rain Wins at Oswego; Double Features on Tap June 15th

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast, Supermodifieds 0 Comments

OSWEGO, NY (June 1, 2013) – With a full field of Novelis Supermodifieds and Pathfinder Bank SBS in Oswego Speedway’s pit area Saturday night, it was clear early on that the evening’s ultimate race was going to be against mother nature.

After a day long battle with rain drops and impending storms, the skies finally opened up for good on lap 10 of the Pathfinder Bank SBS feature.  By 9pm it was determined that the driving rain and continued threat of more weather, compounded with the already wet track conditions, would be simply too much to overcome on Saturday night.

As a result the remaining 20 laps of the Pathfinder Bank SBS feature and the entire 50 lap Novelis Supermodified feature will join the already scheduled program on June 15th, making for double features.

With all qualifying events being completed before the rains came, no rain checks will be honored for June 15th.  However, fans will have the opportunity to see 150 laps of feature racing action, plus the first Entergy Kids on Track Autograph Session of the season for only $15.

Best Western PLUS/Quality Inn and Suites Night at the Races got off to a sunny start on Saturday with hot laps at 4pm, but in just thirty minutes a brief downpour hit the Speedway, soaking the fast 5/8 mile.  In a matter of minutes however, the sun would return, and in less than a half hour the Speedway surface was dried and ready once again for practice.

Qualifying heats would go off without a hitch right at 6:30pm with Russ Brown, Jeremy Pitcher, and Dalton Doyle claiming qualifier wins in the Pathfinder Bank SBS division.

Brian Sweeney, Kody Graham, and Pat Lavery would take heat race wins in the Novelis Supermodified division.

During the qualifying heats it could be seen in the sky and on radar that the weather threat was returning and as a result race officials pushed the events through as fast as possible.

The Pathfinder Bank SBS feature would take the Cam’s NY Pizzeria green flag from starter John Byrnes with rookie Anthony Losurdo and Josh Kerr starting on the front row.  Kerr would jump out to the race lead in the No. 8 machine with Losurdo in tow, and from the start the two young drivers would immediately check out from the field.

Fellow rookie Pitcher, Doyle, Mike Bruce, Jack Patrick, and Andrew Schartner would give chase early on as the field behind Kerr and Losurdo ran in two by two fashion.

The event’s first caution flag hit the Speedway at lap 7 for a spinning Nathan Noto out of turn four.  Kerr, Losurdo, Pitcher, Doyle, Bruce, Patrick, JJ Andrews, Schartner, Brown, and Kreig Heroth would be the top ten coming down for the restart.

At this point the pressure really began to ramp up and light rain drops began to fall as the dark sky clued drivers in that this event may only make it to lap 15 to be official.

Losurdo, the 15-year old high school student from Oswego behind the wheel of No. 1, would hound Kerr on the restart making several low side attempts on the No. 8 for the top spot.

On the race’s eighth circuit Doyle would look low on Pitcher to take third heading into turn one, and just one lap later yellow would fly again this time for a heavier stream of rain drops.

After a couple laps to work in the racing surface green would fly one more time with Kerr ahead of Losurdo, Doyle, Pitcher, Bruce, Andrews, Heroth, Simmons, Schartner, and Mike Bond.

As the green lights came back on Losurdo again applied heavy pressure to Kerr and this time made a low side move stick on the No. 8 heading into turn one.  The two battled side by side around the Speedway for one full circuit until the two brushed wheels heading down the front straight sending Losurdo hard into the outside steel wall.  Losurdo, Kerr, Jack Patrick, and Scott Shafer would all be involved in the front straight skirmish with Losurdo, Patrick, and Kerr all being hooked off the Speedway.

Under this caution, which eventually turned to red, the skies opened up for the final time forcing race officials to call it an evening after ten completed laps.

When the race goes back to green on June 15 Doyle will restart as the race leader trailed by Pitcher, Bruce, Andrews, Heroth, Simmons, Schartner, Tesoriero, Bond, and AJ Bernys.

Next weekend Oswego Speedway will be back in action with round two of the Shea Concrete ‘Steel Palace’ ISMA SuperSeries featuring a 50-lap ISMA Supermodified main and a 35-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS series feature presented by Crop Production Services.  Qualifying time trials for the ISMA Supermodifieds will begin at 5pm with racing getting started at 6:30pm.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit www.oswegospeedway.com, LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.Saturday, June 1st, 2013
Oswego Speedway
Oswego, NY
Best Western PLUS/Quality Inn and Suites Night

Saturday, June 8th – Round 2: Shea Concrete ‘Steel Palace’ ISMA SuperSeries presented by Crop Production Services – ISMA Supermodified 50, Pathfinder Bank SBS 35

Feature (50-laps): To be completed June 15

1st Heat (12-laps/All Qualify): 1. 3 – Brian Sweeney, 2. 35 – Jeff Holbrook, 3. 50 – Dave Gruel, 4. 99 – Michael Barnes, 5. 0 – Tim Snyder, 6. 52 – Dave Danzer, 7. 5 – Tim Devendorf, 8. 83 – Lou LeVea Jr.

2nd Heat (12-laps/All Qualify): 1. 21 – Kody Graham, 2. 7 – Otto Sitterly, 3. 23 – Clayton Brewer III, 4. 56 – Hal LaTulip, 5. 37 – Jeff Locke, 6. 24 – Jerry Curran, 7. 66 – Lou LeVea Sr.

3rd Heat (12-laps/All Qualify): 1. 22 – Pat Lavery, 26 – Shaun Gosselin, 3. 55 – Keith Shampine, 4. 51 – Michael Muldoon, 5. 02 – Brandon Bellinger, 6. 00 – Joe Gosek, 7. 07 – Tony Steiner

Shell Shock Custom Paints Heat Race Challenge:
Kody Graham – 2
Davey Hamilton – 1
Dan Connors Jr. – 1
Tim Jedrzejek – 1
Jeff Holbrook – 1
Otto Sitterly – 1
Brian Sweeney – 1
Pat Lavery – 1

Feature (30-laps):  To be completed June 15 CURRENT RUNNING ORDER: 1. 01 – Dalton Doyle, 2. 14 – Jeremy Pitcher, 3. 22 – Mike Bruce, 4. 93 – JJ Andrews, 5. 04 – Kreig Heroth, 6. 98 – Jason Simmons, 7. 18 – Andrew Schartner, 8. 47 – Jon Tesoriero, 9. 74 – Mike Bond, 10. 24 – AJ Bernys, 11. 9 – Jack Patrick, 12. 13 – Russ Brown, 13. 17 – Tim Gareau, 14. 76 – Scott Shafer, 15. 6 – Brian Sobus, 16. 2 – Rob Pullen, 17. 77 – Cameron Rowe, 18. 57 – Dan Abt, 19. 99 – Dennis Rupert, 20. 19 – Nathan Noto, 21. 90 – Greg O’Connor, 22. 07 – Justin Connell, 23. 8 – Josh Kerr, 24. 1 – Anthony Losurdo

PHOTO CREDIT:  Mike “Pinner” Johnson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.