PST: Patriot Sprint Tour Canada Series Championship Decided This Weekend

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Other Sprint Cars, Racing Nation, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

ROCHESTER, NY — official release — The third season of the Patriot Sprint Tour Canada Series has seemingly flown by, with a champion being crowned this weekend.

This Saturday, the Patriot Sprint Tour returns to the Brockville Ontario Speedway for the third and final trip of 2014; on Sunday, the series will travel an hour up the road for the lone visit of the season at the Cornwall Motor Speedway, where one driver will secure $5,000 as the PST Canada Champion.

Jared Zimbardi, the driver making perhaps the longest drive this weekend from Bradford, PA, holds a 36 point edge heading in to the final two races.  Zimbardi swept the first two PST Canada events of 2014, including a dominating performance at Brockville back in June. A pair of top-five finishes or another win would be enough for “The Juice” to lock up the title.

Quebec’s Alain Bergeron is closest in Zimbardi’s proverbial rear-view mirror. Bergeron has won a Patriot Race at both Brockville and Cornwall, each coming in 2009, the first year for this traditional two-race swing.

Southern Ontario’s Mitch Brown also has a realistic chance to claim the championship.  Brown has won a host of shows throughout his career but has never won a Patriot-sanctioned event.  A checkered flag this weekend would go a long way at claiming a title.

Local competitors Lee Ladouceur and Chris Jones are also within championship range with drivers like Dale Gosselin, Kyle Fraser and Stan Zanchin battling for top 5 spots.

Other drivers to keep an eye out for this weekend include Rick and April Wilson, Paul Pekkonen, Steve Poirier, Jason Barney, Devin Caron, Bryan Howland, Jeff Cook, Sammy Reakes and rookie Dane Lorenc.

For more information, visit


Patriot History at Brockville:

Races: 20

8/20/2004- Rick Wilson

10/22/2005- Kyle Drum

7/15/2006- Rick Wilson

6/2/2007- Jessica Zemken

7/18/2009- Bryan Howland

8/22/2009- Alain Bergeron

10/17/2009- Glenn Styres (Non-Points)

6/12/2010- Jared Zimbardi

7/17/2010- Shayne Ely

10/16/2010- Jared Zimbardi (Non-Points)

7/16/2011- Jared Zimbardi

8/27/2011- Wayne Johnson

7/14/2012- Jamie Collard

8/25/2012- Justin Barger

10/13/2012- Steve Poirier

7/20/2013- Jamie Collard

8/24/2013- Steve Poirier

10/19/2013- Bryan Howland

6/21/2014- Jared Zimbardi

7/19/2014- Steve Poirier


Patriot History at Cornwall:

Races: 4

7/19/2009- Alain Bergeron

7/18/2010- Steve Poirier

7/15/2012- Bryan Howland

8/25/2013- Jason Barney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.