PASS: Defending Granite State Champion Derek Griffith Quickest During First PASS Practice at Thompson

Kyle Souza Featured, New England, Northeast 0 Comments

THOMPSON, Conn. — Story and photo by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza —

Coming off a dominant championship season on the Granite State Pro Stock Series, Derek Griffith unloaded fast Saturday at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

The Hudson, New Hampshire driver lead the opening Pro All Star Series (PASS) practice on the 5/8 mile oval, flying around with a fast time of 19.759 seconds (113.872 mph). Griffith will try and fend off his challengers during heat racing action to set the field later this afternoon in attempt to start up front in Sunday’s 75 lap main event.

Right in behind Griffith was former PASS winner Derek Ramstrom, who put down a lap of 19.784 seconds (113.728 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 35. Ramstrom was followed by David Garbo in third (19.795 seconds/113.665 mph), former PASS champion Johnny Clark in fourth (19.858 seconds/113.304 mph) and Garrett Hall in fifth (19.888 seconds/113.134 mph).

Mike Hopkins was sixth fastest in the opening session, while Ben Rowe unloaded his No. 4 in seventh spot. Travis Benjamin, Reid Lanpher and Cory Casagrande rounded out the top-1o.

Other noteable drivers in the field include defending Seekonk Speedway Pro Stock champion Angelo Belsito and PASS veteran D.J. Shaw. A total of 26 cars are on grounds at Thompson this weekend.

The Pro All Star Series will return to the track with final practice coming up at 12:50 p.m. local time. The heat races, scheduled for 10 laps, are first on the qualifying schedule at 2:30 p.m.


RESULTS: Pro All Star Series Practice No. 1 Top 20; Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park; April 9, 2016

  1. Derek Griffith
  2. Derek Ramstrom
  3. David Garbo
  4. Johnny Clark
  5. Garrett Hall
  6. Mike Hopkins
  7. Ben Rowe
  8. Travis Benjamin
  9. Reid Lanpher
  10. Cory Casagrande
  11. Trevor Sanborn
  12. Eric St. Gelais
  13. Travis Stearns
  14. Matt Matheson
  15. Jake Vanada
  16. Glen Luce
  17. George Bessette
  18. John Michael Shenette
  19. Jeremy Davis
  20. DJ Shaw


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at: [email protected]

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online: [email protected]

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *