NXS: Erik Jones Keeps JGR On Top; Paces Second XFINITY Practice at Pocono

Kyle Souza NASCAR, Northeast 0 Comments

LONG POND, Pa. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

Erik Jones paced the second of two NASCAR XFINITY Series practice sessions at Pocono Raceway on Thursday.

Jones, who was second quickest in the opening session behind teammate Kyle Busch, posted a quick time of 52.049 seconds (172.914 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 20 SportClips Haircuts Toyota.

Brandon Jones, who is pulling double-duty this weekend (also running the ARCA race), was second quickest. The fast lap for the No. 33 Menards/Cometic Gasket Chevrolet was 52.540 seconds (171.298 mph).

Busch was third in his NOS Energy Drink Toyota (52.589/171.138), while Ty Dillon toured the ‘tricky triangle’ with the fourth fastest time (52.977/169.885).

Daniel Suarez put a third Joe Gibbs Racing car inside the top-five, placing fifth as he seeks his first win of the season (53.006/169.792).

Paul Menard was sixth, with Joey Logano, a former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winner at Pocono, in seventh. Kyle Larson, Justin Allgaier and Alex Bowman rounded out the top-10.

The NASCAR XFINITY Series returns to the track on Friday, with two practice sessions during the early afternoon in preparation for Saturday’s inaugural Pocono Green 250.


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series; Second Practice; Pocono Raceway; June 2, 2016

  1. Erik Jones
  2. Brandon Jones
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Ty Dillon
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Paul Menard
  7. Joey Logano
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Justin Allgaier
  10. Alex Bowman
  11. Elliott Sadler
  12. Blake Koch
  13. Brennan Poole
  14. Ryan Reed
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Brendan Gaughan
  17. J.J. Yeley
  18. Ryan Sieg
  19. Ross Chastain
  20. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  21. Jeremy Clements
  22. Ryan Preece
  23. Brandon Gdovic
  24. Ray Black Jr.
  25. Garrett Smithley
  26. Josh Wise
  27. Dakota Armstrong
  28. Mario Gosselin
  29. Alex Guenette
  30. B.J. McLeod
  31. Morgan Shepherd
  32. T.J. Bell
  33. Joey Gase
  34. Derrick Cope
  35. Todd Peck
  36. Carl Long


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at: kylesouza34@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.