NWAAS: Defending Champions Belsito & Estrella Lead Early List of Seekonk Speedway Entries

Kyle Souza Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, NASCAR, New England, Northeast, Other Late Models, Street Stocks, Touring Late Models, Touring Series 0 Comments

SEEKONK, Mass. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Seekonk Speedway photo —

The 71st season of racing at Seekonk Speedway is quickly approaching and the track is starting to receive driver entries in all divisions. The track will have nine weekly divisions this upcoming year, including four every Saturday night as part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

Let’s take a look at some of the driver’s entered so far for the 2016 season!

PRO STOCKS: Defending Champion Belsito Will Be Back

Angelo Belsito stunned the field in 2015, winning many times and eventually locking up the championship in just his second season in a Pro Stock. He has filed his entry to attempt to repeat as champion and has been joined by names like Rick Martin, Ryan Vanasse and Kyle Casper. Some cars have been entered with the driver still to be announced, like the No. 2, registered by owner Deb Scully. All sources point towards Tom Scully Jr. being behind the wheel for 2016. See the entire list of current entered driver’s below:

Pro Stocks Entered:

1 — Daryl Stamphl, 2 — TBA , 4 — Tommy Ellis, 7 — Kyle Casper, 8 — Angelo Belsito, 9 — Alex Mielnicki, 11 — Ryan Vanasse, 12 — TBA, 14 — Rick Martin, 17 — Kevin Folan, 21 — George Kourafas, 41 — TBA, 64 — Mike Sullivan, 80 — Bob Hussey, 88 — Kevin Casper, 98 — TBA

LATE MODELS: Defending Champion Estrella Poised For Repeat With New Sponsorship

The 2015 Late Model season saw Dylan Estrella breakthrough and win his first track championship behind the wheel of the W.A. Bernard Inc. No. 46 and he has filed an entry for the upcoming season. Though he will still be with Bernard, he is also bringing on board Everett’s Auto Parts as a primary sponsor for the whole year.

Other driver’s entered include D.A.V. Fall Classic winner at the end of last year Vincent Arrenegado and multi-time track champion Gerry DeGaspere Jr. The to be announced No. 12 has all sources pointing towards Bobby Pelland III, a former champion, running at least a part-time schedule behind the wheel. See the list of current entered driver’s below:

Late Models Entered:

00 — T.J. Moreshead, 2 — Ron Barbosa, 3 — TBA, 4 — Dan Johnson, 5 — TBA, 6 — Nick Johnson, 7 — TBA, 8 — Crystal Serydynski, 10 — Emily Sprague, 11 — Nick Uring, 12 — TBA, 16 — Austin Blais, 17 — Vincent Arrenegado, 19 — TBA, 21 — TBA, 31 — Steve Potter, 37 — Jariah Roderick, 45 — TBA, 46 — Dylan Estrella, 47 — Bill Bernard, 50 — Jeramee Lille, 71 — Gerry DeGaspere Jr.

STREET STOCKS: Fast Fanning, Rookie Melberg Lead Street Stock Entries

A returning Corey Fanning and rookie contender Jesse Melberg, who is a former Pure Stock champion, lead the list of the current Street Stock drivers entered for 2016. Melberg will be coming off a solid season in the Nick’s Pit Stop Legend Cars as part of Fast Friday, making the jump to Saturday night racing for the first time in his career.

Other entered drivers who will be returning include Vinny Pangelinan, Ed Flanagan Jr. and Ryan Flood. Among drivers who have NOT filed entries, though are expected, include defending champion Paul Lallier and his son Tyler Lallier. See the list of current entered drivers below:

Street Stocks Entered:

00 — Joe Melberg, 01 — Chris Allen, 0 — Linwood, Jr. — 2 — TBA, 3 — TBA, 4 — Rob Kohler, 5 — Ed Flanagan Jr., 7 — Ray Negley, 8 — Crystal Serydynski, 9 — Dane Sartelli, 10 — TBA, 11 — Corey Fanning, 13 — Paul Williams, 18 — Adam Dion, 22 — TBA, 24 — Doug Rioux, 28 — Kevin Bowe, 31 — TBA, 32 — Jesse Melberg, 34 — Raymond Lebrun, 44 — TBA, 46 — Tim Watson, 53 — Vinny Pangelinan, 56 — Thomas Adams, 57 — David Smith, 64 — Sam Porazzo, 74 — TBA, 75 — Thomas Murray, 98 — Ryan Flood

SPORTS TRUCKS: Defending Champion Belcher and “Showtime” Lead Sports Truck Entries

The Seekonk Sports Trucks often showcase the young, upcoming talent at the Seekonk Speedway, but so far, 2016 looks to be a battle of the veterans. Defending champion Chase Belcher leads the list of drivers entered for the season — he will be chasing his second straight championship behind the wheel of his No. 81 truck.

Mike “Showtime” Duarte also has entered for this year. He won twice in 2015 behind the wheel of his George Tourgee prepared No. 50. Other entries include former champion Mike Cavallaro and veteran Darryl Church. See the list of current entered drivers below:

Sports Trucks Entered:

4 — Darryl Church, 8 — Dan Johnson, 12 — Joseph Fortin, 21 — TBA, 22 — TBA, 33 — Bob Rainville, 37 — Shawn DeMello, 38 — Josh Hedges, 50 — Mike “Showtime” Duarte, 72 — Mike Lopes, 80 — Mike Cavallaro, 81 — Chase Belcher, 84 — Bill Schoeler, 85 — TBA, 93 — John Robidoux


The 2016 NASCAR season at Seekonk Speedway will include an appearance by the historic NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour on Sept. 10. Fans can view the entire 2016 schedule by clicking here.

For more information on Seekonk, fans are encouraged to visit the track’s website at www.seekonkspeedway.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *