NORTHEAST: Seekonk Speedway Announces Inductees for 2015 WPRO Wall of Fame

Kyle Souza Featured, Northeast 2 Comments

SEEKONK, MASS — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza —

As the Seekonk Speedway prepares to head into a historic 70th season in 2015, there has been buzz around the Speedway about who would be the next entrants into the Wall of Fame. The Wall of Fame is now three years young and will add its two newest members this racing season.

The Speedway released a special announcement to all in attendance at the annual banquet Saturday night that both Deke Astle Sr. and Bobby Sprague would be inducted into the Seekonk Speedway WPRO Wall of Fame this coming season.

The inductions of both gentlemen are slated for Saturday night, May 23, and will take place trackside before the start of the night’s racing.

During the 19-year Seekonk career of Deke Astle Sr., he collected 28 feature wins and was also crowned the 1966 Class A champion. He continued his racing at Seekonk into the 1970’s in what was the All Pro Division, just before it became the Pro Stock division.

Bobby Sprague was a popular driver at Seekonk whose career lasted from the mid 1950’s through the 1970’s. He found most of his success driving the Marty Zingali Ford to victory through the sixties many times. He has over 35 career wins at Seekonk.

Sprague and Astle Sr. join the list of folks already in the Wall of Fame, including Irene Venditti, D. Anthony Venditti, Johnny Verissimo, Len Ellis, George Summers, Norm Holden, Carl “Bugsy” Stevens, Ron Bouchard, Wayne Dion, Ron Manfredo, Don Dionne, and Billy Clark.

For more offseason information on the Seekonk Speedway, visit

Comments 2

  1. Bobby was not only a star on the track hewas a superstar off the track. always had time after the races; win or lose, to have a beer and talk. His flying zero flathead was and still is the coolest car I ever saw race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.