NE DIRT MODS: ‘Super Matt’ Sheppard Wins In A Super Close Finish At Canandaigua Motorsports Park

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Sprints & Midgets, Super DIRTcar Series 0 Comments

CANANDAIGUA, NY — official release — Number Nine Video still-shot — Wicked weather surrounded the Central New York area last Saturday but much to the delight of CMP staff and management, storms went North and South allowing the Land of Legends to race as scheduled.   Despite the threat of inclement weather, a full pit area was enjoyed for the six division program presented by Parts Plus and Canandaigua Admar Supply.  An awesome racing surface provided for plenty of side by side racing through-out the event.

Matt Sheppard of Waterloo, NY was victorious in the thirty-five lap Big Block Modified main event.  Sheppard would only lead one lap but it was the most important one as he went from third to first by a bumper at the checkered over Alan Johnson and Mike Bowman.  The three battled tooth and nail for the final five circuits of the thirty-five lap event with Sheppard and Bowman swapping second on several occasions.  With lapped traffic to deal with, Sheppard would choose the best lane and the take the win aboard his HBR Troyer chassis.  Johnson held on for second followed by Bowman whom enjoyed his best finish of the season at CMP in third.  Steve Paine came from seventeenth to post fourth followed by Peter Britten who rounded out the top five.
Paul Guererri of Geneva, NY took top honors in the Safety Awareness Solutions Sportsman division for the second time in 2014. The multi-time champion took the lead away from his nephew Nick Guererri on lap eighteen of the twenty-five lap main and held it remaining distance.  Piloting his Tri County Excavating/Proctor Roofing sponsored 7g, Guererri came from ninth to post the win.  After leading the first eighteen circuits, Nick held on for second followed by Eric Giguere who came home in third followed by Rob Bussey and Dave Marcucelli.
Darryl Ruggles of Hopewell, NY captured his sixth win of the season in the Dig Safely NY 305 Race Saver Sprint division.  Ruggles came from sixteenth to the win in a green to checkered twenty lap main event.  Taking the top spot away from Jon Preston with the white flag flying, Ruggles put on a great show coming from the last starting position after difficulties during qualifying sent him pitside.  Preston would hold on for second followed by Nick Cooper, Todd Henderson, and Will Glover.
Pete Stefanski captured his tenth of the season in the Parts Plus Pro Street division. Stefanski took the lead away from Steve Pesarek on lap ten of the fifteen lap main and held it the final distance.  Piloting his Sunrise Racing sponsored #2, Stefanski continued his dominance in the class. Pesarek finished in the runner up position followed by defending champion Mike Welch who continues to battle an ill handling machine.  Charles Harvey and Sean Kirby rounded out the top five.
James Sweeting of Brockport, NY took top honors aboard the twelve lap New Legends Sportsman feature main.  The race was one of the best ever as the top three of Joshua Szymarski, Tate Mangarelli, and Sweeting put on a great three car battle for the top spot.  The final three laps kept fans on the edge of their seats as the trio swapped the point position.  With the checkered flags waving, Sweeting pulled dead even with Mangarelli as they came off turn four.  The pair crossed the line side by side with Sweeting taking the win by inches.  Mangarelli finished in second followed by Szymarski who led the first nine laps.
CJ Guererri of Geneva, NY captured his sixth win of the season in the Pure Stock division.  Piloting his Damick Painting/Guererri’s Service sponsored #CJ1, Guererri used his front row starting position to take the lead at the drop of the green and hold it the entire twelve laps.  Defending champion Marc Minutolo advanced to second followed by Derrick Excell, Nick Dandino, and Roger Bush.
BIG BLOCK MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH – MATT SHEPPARD, Alan Johnson, Mike Bowman, Steve Paine, Peter Britten, Gary Tomkins, Justin Haers, Billy Dunn, Erick Rudolph, Derrick Podsiadlo, Matt Billings, Chad Homan, Dave Rauscher, Justin Wright, Gil Tegg Jr., Eldon Payne, Brian Sage, Dave Allen, Vince Vitale, Pete Taylor, Tommy Keyes, Mike Obrien, and Jeffrey Brownell Jr.  Heat Winners – Matt Sheppard, Gary Tomkins, and Dave Rauscher.
SAFETY AWARENESS SOLUTIONS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – PAUL GUERERRI, Nick Guererri, Eric Giguere, Rob Bussey, Dave Marcucelli, Steve Gray, Kevin Ridley, Joe Cook, AJ Lloyd, James Henry, Kane Bristol, Jeff Davoli, Dave Conant, Tim Baker, Loren Lincoln, Nathan Peckham, Matt Guererri, Austin Fugle, Ray Hendershot, Kevin Britten, Andrew Jacobson, Frank Guererri Jr., Karl Comfort, Ricky Newton, Tyler Meeks, and Kaitlyn Pashina. Heat Winners – Jeff Davoli, Rob Bussey, and Nick Guererri.
DIG SAFELY NY 305 RACE SAVER SPRINTS FEATURE FINISH – DARRYL RUGGLES, Jonathon Preston, Nick Cooper, Todd Henderson, Will Glover, Steve Doell, Bob Dresti, Lee Sanders, David Ferguson, Alysha Ruggles, Lance Dusett, Sean ODea, Kelly Hebing, Dan Kuhn, Jason Whipple, Steve Glover, and Tim Smith. Heat Winners – Jon Preston and Sean ODea.
PARTS PLUS PRO STREET FEATURE FINISH – PETE STEFANSKI, Steve Pesarek, Mike Welch, Charles Harvey, Sean Kirby, Bill Weller, Pat Hobbs, Ron Greek and Keith Keuer. Heat Winner – Steve Pesarek.
NEW LEGENDS FEATURE FINISH – JAMES SWEETING, Tate Mangarelli, Joshua Szymarski, Jeremy Groescup, Jimmy Morton, and Todd Hayward. Heat Winner – Joshua Szymarski.
PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH – CJ GUERERRI, Marc Minutolo, Derrick Excell, Nick Dandino, Roger Bush, Chris Gingerich, Shawn Lloyd, and Jenny Nunez. Heat Winner – Nick Dandino.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.