MSR: 56th Joe James/Pat O’Connor Memorial Set For August At Salem

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Northeast, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

HOLLY, Mich. — official series release — Chris Seelman photo —

The Salem Speedway and Must See Racing (MSR) tradition continues with the 56th annual Joe James/Pat O’Connor Memorial, scheduled for Saturday, August 8, 2015.

As the event prepares for the 56th running, it is notable that it remains one of the most important and enduring memorial races in the United States. Now spanning seven decades, the memory of two great racers has been honored by countless fans and competitors.

The honor roll of past James/O’Connor winners reads like a who’s-who in open wheel racing history with names including A.J. Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Bob Sweikert, Mario Andretti, Bobby Unser, Pancho Carter, Rich Vogler, Kenny Irwin Jr. and Tony Stewart gracing the list of former winners.

Track record holder (13.937) and last year’s feature winner Brian Gerster, the two-time defending MSR Champion, put on a spectacular display of determination, skill and speed in the Dick Myers-owned No. 50M machine, placing his name on the prestigious winners list as the fastest man ever to tour the famous Salem Speedway.

The track is known for its imposing 33-degree banked turns and high speeds, with the 2015 event looming as a potential record setter following last year’s major repaving project.

CREDIT: Must See Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.