Mechalides, Bruneau, Paiva and DeGaspere Jr pick up Saturday Seekonk Victories

Kyle Souza Northeast 0 Comments


June 10, 2013 By Kyle Souza – On Saturday night the Valenti Modified Racing Series once again invaded the Action Track of the East in Seekonk, MA. Past winners filled the field and the stars of the series were once again going to try and tackle the 1/3 mile.

The modified heat races saw local driver Todd Annarummo pick up heat one, Anthony Nocella win heat two, and Mike Holdrige take down heat three.

The feature racing action started with Annarummo and Louie Mechalides on the front row. Early on Todd was the dominant car up front, able to pull away from the field while dodging a few caution flags.

The first real challenge came from Steve Masse of VT in the #13. He was able to stay tight with Todd and was even with him for the first half of the event.

Just after the halfway point, both cars were taken out in an incident with a lapped car. They were both inside the pit area soon after, but were never a factor the rest of the race.

The race turned to Louie Mechalides, who led from lap 51 to the finish. Long time series veteran Dwight Jarvis was literally knocking at the back door for numerous laps.

However, Jarvis was later chased down by young gun Tommy Barrett and he became distracted by Barrett, letting Louie pull away. Mechalides won the event for the second straight year, followed by Barrett who edged out Jarvis for second spot.

The Seekonk Sports Trucks joined the action on Saturday night, and had only one caution in their 25-lap feature. John Paiva started near the front and found himself leading the pack by lap two. He opened up a huge lead and showed right away he was going to be the dominant truck.

With Paiva comfortably out front, the battle behind him was heated. Barry Shaw Jr returned to the trucks, beating and banging his way to a second place finish. Defending track champion Mike Cavallaro was pressuring Shaw for the final laps, giving them no chance at catching Paiva.

It was Paiva’s first win of the season, giving him a much-needed boost in the championship standings. Shaw and Cavallaro finished second and third, with Nick Uring in fourth and Rick Martin crossing the line fifth.

This week’s Street Stock feature showed why they put on some of the best racing the area. Early on Chris DeMoura was out front, trying to hang on with cars coming at him from all angles.

Gerard Berthelette took the point by lap 10, but he spun out off turn two shortly after.  This handed the lead over to Scott Bruneau. Scott was out front for the remainder of the event but did not go unchallenged.

Former track winner Ed Gagnon III was right on Bruneau’s back bumper for the final 15 laps and took a look to the outside coming off turn four to the checkers.

Gagnon’s bid fell short though, giving Bruneau his first win of the season. Gagnon III hung on for second, followed by Charles Beal in third.

The Late Models saw a familiar face slide his way back to victory lane. The early start saw youngster David Hutchins Jr lead the way but he was quickly challenged by Gerry DeGaspere Jr.

The defending champion made a statement, passing Hutchins just before halfway and pulling away to his first win of the 2013 season.

The challenge for second was between Jeramme Lille (a previous 2013 winner) and Dylan Estrella. They went nose to tail for the final laps, but it saw Lille hang on for second with Estrella forced to settle for third. Hutchins Jr hung on to finish fourth with Bill Bernard rounding out the top five.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.