ESS: Empire Sprints Return to Selinsgrove Speedway for Mach 1 Chassis Spectacular

RaceChaser Staff Northeast, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

SYRACUSENY — official release — Its been a long three weeks since the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) kicked off their 31st consecutive point season opener at Can-Am Motorsports Park. Now the popular tour is ready to tackle the famed Selinsgrove Speedway with the Mach 1 Chassis Spectacular on Saturday night, May 17th.

The 25 lap A-Main will pay a cool $3,000 with the payoff of $300 ready to just take the green.  The event is the largest full point show payoff of the 2014 season.

South Onondaga, NY’s Shawn Donath came out of the box strong putting a horrible 2013 season behind him with a $2,000 victory at Can-Am.  While he did lead wire to wire, it was a fight to the finish with Cory Sparks and defending champion Steve Poirier right behind at the checkers.

It’s still very early in the point chase and the cream of the crop will be at the Snyder County Oval.  Paul Kinney, Kevin Ward Jr., Chuck Hebing, Jeff Cook, Matt Tanner, Etienne Girard, Jason Barney, Patrick Vigneault, Joe Trenca, Dave and Tim Axton, Parker Evans and more are looking to take on the track faithful.

Mach 1 Chassis builder Mark Smith currently leads the points at Selinsgrove, last years winner TJ Stutts, Mike Walter, Brock Zearfoss, Jason Shultz, Pat Cannon, Duane Mausteller, Mark Bitner, Dan Mazy and others will be defending the home turf.

Other drivers that have shown interest and could be in the field include Canadian Jamie Collard and the “Doc” Steve Collins who both will be coming from the Ohsweken Speedway the night before.

Car Mate Custom Built Trailers brings you the heats, Dave Franek Auto Sales is sponsoring the Cobra Coaches Dash event with the Lacaillade Masonry B-Main rounding out the field for the Mach 1 Spectacular.

An added bonus is also the Mach 1 Chassis Pa. Mountain Challenge where the top five in points from the Selinsgrove event and the July 19th event at the Bradford Speedway will share in the point fund.

The history and the speed of the Selinsgrove half-mile, the invasion of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints…it’s $3,000 to win and it will be excitement guaranteed!

For more information on the event, visit the track’s website at, follow them on Twitter @SelinsgrovePR or give them a “Like” on Facebook at

For more information on the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints, you can find them on the web at, follow them on Twitter @ESSprints or hit “Like” on Facebook at You can also access them on Android devices with the Android App: Empire Super Sprints.


Past Empire Super Sprint winners at Selinsgrove Speedway.

July 8. 1995 Kramer Williamson
May 18, 1996 Bobby Parrow
July 6, 1996 Rick Koenig
March 31, 2012 Pat Cannon
Sept. 1, 2012 Pat Cannon
Apr. 6, 2013 Tony Stewart
May 18, 2013 TJ Stutts
Sept. 28, 2013 TJ Stutts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.