KDDP: 2016 Kulwicki Driver Development Program Roster Set; Seven Drivers to Vie for Season Title

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, New England, Northeast, Other Late Models, Southeast, Southwest, Stock Cars, West 0 Comments

CONCORD, N.C. – official press release —

Officials with the Kulwicki Driver Development Program have announced  the seven drivers who will represent the organization during the 2016 racing season.

The seven drivers hail from six states spread from coast to coast.  They range from 18 to 24 years in age. Ty Majeski won the 2015 Kulwicki Driver Development Program championship.

Natalie Decker, 18, Eagle River, Wis.

A member of the 2015 NASCAR Drive 4 Diversity Development Program, Decker heads back to the Midwest full time in 2016, competing in a super late model and running the entire ARCA Midwest Tour. In 2015, Decker became the first female to podium finish on the ARCA Midwest Tour.  She claimed three feature wins at State Park Speedway and outdueled Kulwicki Development Driver Reagan May to pick up the victory in a thrilling photo finish at Golden Sands (Wis.) Speedway.

Jeremy Doss, 19, Upper Lake, Calif.

Since 2012, Doss has won 30 super late model races on the West Coast, including 16 in the Pacific Challenge Series, the most in series history. The son of famed California late model racer Mike Doss, Jeremy Doss will compete for the PCS championship for the first time in 2016, and hit a number of prestigious races throughout the season, including the Montana 200 and the Snowball Derby. Doss finished a strong third in the recent Winter Showdown at Kern County (Calif.) Raceway.

Dave Farrington Jr., 24, Jay, Maine

The only returning member of the 2015 Kulwicki Driver Development Program, Farrington won the prestigious Coastal 200 at Wiscasset Speedway and scored a number of top-five finishes at his home track, Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. The 2014 track (and NASCAR State) champion plans on chasing the championship at Beech Ridge again in 2016, as well as hitting a number of PASS North and ACT Series races. Farrington works at the Bath Iron Works in Maine, and helped build the US Navy’s newest destroyer, the USS Zumwalt.

Cody Haskins, 24, Marietta, Ga.

As the winner of the 2015 Rupert Porter Memorial 100 at Anderson (S.C.) Motor Speedway, owner-driver Cody Haskins proved he could beat two of the best in late model stock car racing in Lee Pulliam and Anthony Anders.  Haskins, a multi-time pro truck winner, will compete for the 2016 NASCAR Whelen All American Series National Championship, racing over 40 times at various tracks in the Southeast.

Quin Houff, 18, Mount Sidney, Va.

As one of the house drivers for Rob Fuller’s LFR Chassis team, Quin Houff raced super late models for the first time in 2015, picking up a huge breakthrough victory on the CARS Tour at Tri-County Motor Speedway and finishing fourth in the series points.  His 2015 CARS Tour record also boasted five top-five finishes and seven top-10s.  Houff plans on competing in races throughout the country in 2016, racing in CARS, PASS and CRA competition.

Alex Prunty, 23, Lomira, Wis.

A member of the first family of short track racing in Southeast Wisconsin, Alex Prunty follows in the footsteps of his father and uncles and will attempt to take the super late model track championship at Slinger Speedway. Prunty won the late model championship in 2015 and was the SLM Rookie of the Year at Dells Raceway Park. A graduate of Moraine Park Technical College, Prunty will feature sponsorship from his alma mater on his cars this season.

Brandon Setzer, 22, Newton, N.C.

The son of former NASCAR driver Dennis Setzer, Brandon Setzer took the super late model world by storm in 2015, winning two races and three poles on the CARS Tour and picking up the prestigious Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National Motorsports Park. Setzer will chase the CARS Tour again this season, among other big SLM shows, and already has one win to his credit; a PASS South victory at Dillon Motor Speedway in early March.

CREDIT: 51 Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.